Fullscreen

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView MP.

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

NemoClownfish
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2023 7:31 am

Fullscreen

Post by NemoClownfish »

I'm trying XnViewMP at the moment. Looks good so far, bu I have a little issue.
When switching between full screen and windowed mode, it causes a reinitialisation of the graphics mode which results in the screen turning black for a couple of seconds. The same happens when alt+tabbing.
I know I am most likely talking about a Windows function here, but I can't find out which one. I already tried to disable HDR and game mode.

The point is that XnView classic does not behave this way, so maybe you can tell me how these two work differently and/or how to prevent it?

System is Windows 11, Nvidia RTX graphics card with 4k HDR screen.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43995
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Fullscreen

Post by xnview »

Really strange, you are the first user with such problem :shock:
Pierre.
NemoClownfish
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2023 7:31 am

Re: Fullscreen

Post by NemoClownfish »

If I can provide any useful information, let me know.
Besidex XNV-MP I am also using XNV classic and ACDSee 18 which both don't have this issue.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43995
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Fullscreen

Post by xnview »

no problem with XnView Classic?
Pierre.
NemoClownfish
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2023 7:31 am

Re: Fullscreen

Post by NemoClownfish »

Classic works just fine, it only happens with XnMP.

I saw that XNViewMP uses the GPU, could it be that it uses a OpenGL renderer? That might cause some 3D settings to take effect when going to fullscreen.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43995
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Fullscreen

Post by xnview »

XnView MP doesn't use GPU, and OpenGL is only used for some tasks.
You have only the problem when switching from fullscreen<>window?

In browser, if you select an image and press F11, same problem?
Pierre.
NemoClownfish
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2023 7:31 am

Re: Fullscreen

Post by NemoClownfish »

If you say "browser", you mean the fileview or an internet browser? Neither show this behaviour.

This only happens when viewing a image and pressing F11 to switch between full screen and windowed mode, whereby ther is no difference if the image viewer was maximized before or not.

Here's what my task manager says about the GPU use shortly after I exit fullscreen.

Image
https://ibb.co/s6z7G43

The usage drops to 0 shortly after that and a couple of seconds later the entry in the GPU-Module column is gone as well.
I kept the task manager open for a while and that entry keeps appearing and disappearing once in a while. But the usage value only raises significantly when I switch between fullscreen and window mode.

It might be a Windows 11 thing after all, it uses the GPU for a lot of tasks that were pure 2D in the past. I just have no idea why neither classic XNView nor ACDSee18 show that behaviour.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43995
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Fullscreen

Post by xnview »

really strange, i have not GPU on my desktop. I ask QT team
Pierre.
NemoClownfish
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2023 7:31 am

Re: Fullscreen

Post by NemoClownfish »

Sorry for causing so much hassle :)

It really looks like there's something that makes Windows 11 think this has to be threated as 3D application.

Btw, I also found a older XnViewMP version in my archives (0.99) which does not behave this way, I noticed this behaviour only in the one I downloaded some time before my post. Most of the dlls are the same, but the "libdraw.dll" and "z.dll" differ. Not sure what the latter is about, but judging by the name, the first one might be connected.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43995
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Fullscreen

Post by xnview »

you need to check version of libQt, could you try the 1.0?
Pierre.
NemoClownfish
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2023 7:31 am

Re: Fullscreen

Post by NemoClownfish »

In the previous post I gave false information, sorry. When I compared the directories, I only looked at files with the same name. Since most files in the new version got a different name, the information "most are the same" is completely wrong.

Anyway ... in verion XnViewMP-v1.43 and XnViewMP-v1.44 I have Qt5-Libraries with version 5.15.12.0, whle in version XnViewMPv0.99 it'S 5.15.6.0.
I don't have XnViewMP v1.0 on my system, 0.99 was quite a random find.
NemoClownfish
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2023 7:31 am

Re: Fullscreen

Post by NemoClownfish »

I found something.
Since I had this behaviour most of the time, but not all the time, I tried to find out what triggered it.
In a directory with Jpegs only I could not reproduce it.
It seems to be triggered once certain webp,webm or animations were loaded.
I uploaded a sample here were I got that behaviour regulary.
Open the webp with XNViewMP, F11 works as it's supposed to without reinitialization.
Use pageup to go to the cat video and page down to return to the picture.
Using F11 now to switch between fullscreen and window mode causes the reinitialization

https://turb.pw/qm0t4t8hcbp2.html
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43995
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Fullscreen

Post by xnview »

so you have this problem when you play a video file?
Pierre.
NemoClownfish
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2023 7:31 am

Re: Fullscreen

Post by NemoClownfish »

Not only "when", but also "after". Also the video has not to be shown in the viewer, it's enough if the file was shown shortly as preview in XnViewMPs file browser for a moment. From that moment on the graphics initialization when switching the viewer from (or to) fullscreen happens.

So far I saw this with .mp4 and .wemb, animated gifs are not affected.

I didn't notice this first, because I have all kind of stuff in my download directory.Only when I used the viewer in one without any animated files and saw that it didn't happen there, I started to investigate.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43995
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Fullscreen

Post by xnview »

Video engine use OpenGL, could you try by changing in xnview.ini

Code: Select all

useInternalVideoPlayer=false
Pierre.