Can't get my Classic workflow to work in MP ...

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView MP.

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

tillwe
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2023 1:27 pm

Can't get my Classic workflow to work in MP ...

Post by tillwe »

Hello,

maybe I just can't find the right combination of options, but my biggest problem with MP is that I can't work with the workflow I'm used to in classic.

What I do: I have a large number of pictures, and I want to edit/select which of these I will use. I open the first picture (say, img_1234), make some corrections, and the save it as "m_img_1234". I click the right arrow in the menu band to open the next picture.

In classic, I get the next picture, say img_1235. In MP, the directory seems to be reloaded, and I get the next picture following "m_img_1234", that is usually the very first picture in the directory.

So if I want to edit a load of pictures, I have to close XNView / switch to folder view, and have to open the next picture manually. This is cumbersome compared to the classiv behavior, where I could move to a list of files and save some of them as modified versions without jumping in the directory.

Is there a way to enable this behavior in XnView MP? I tried different settings in Einstellungen -> Dateioperation (options -> file operations), but this behavior did not change.

Best regards

Till
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 3941
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Can't get my classic workflow to work in MP ...

Post by cday »

Could this be a browser View > Sort order... problem?
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43094
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Can't get my classic workflow to work in MP ...

Post by xnview »

it's a bug in Classic.
If you select 'Settings>File list>New files are added...', same problem?
Pierre.
tillwe
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2023 1:27 pm

Re: Can't get my classic workflow to work in MP ...

Post by tillwe »

xnview wrote: Sat Aug 19, 2023 2:05 pm it's a bug in Classic.
If you select 'Settings>File list>New files are added...', same problem?
Yes, same behavior. Can I have the bug back, please?
User avatar
user0
XnThusiast
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 9:37 am

Re: Can't get my Classic workflow to work in MP ...

Post by user0 »

tillwe wrote: Sat Aug 19, 2023 1:34 pm What I do: I have a large number of pictures, and I want to edit/select which of these I will use. I open the first picture (say, img_1234), make some corrections, and the save it as "m_img_1234". I click the right arrow in the menu band to open the next picture.

In classic, I get the next picture, say img_1235. In MP, the directory seems to be reloaded, and I get the next picture following "m_img_1234", that is usually the very first picture in the directory.
I guess you need 'Save a Copy' functionality that should not shift focus from opened file to the newly saved.

xnview wrote: Sat Aug 19, 2023 2:05 pm it's a bug in Classic.
If you select 'Settings>File list>New files are added...', same problem?
it looks like this option has no effect in Viewer, as newly created files via 'Save as' always adds to the end of filelist.
Guess it shall be global option.


speaking about Viewer default sorting behaviour on new file appear, as for me, the correct one shall be like this:
1. you open file in Viewer
2. you save it as new file via 'Save as'
3. focus shifts to new file
4. directory automatically resorts
without fancy features like 'New files added to the end of the list'
tillwe
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2023 1:27 pm

Re: Can't get my Classic workflow to work in MP ...

Post by tillwe »

user0 wrote: Sat Aug 19, 2023 4:55 pm I guess you need 'Save a Copy' functionality that should not shift focus from opened file to the newly saved.
Yes, exactly. In Classic "Save as" worked that way ... very helpful if you have a large number of photos you are working with, and don't want to switch between directory view and image view.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43094
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Can't get my Classic workflow to work in MP ...

Post by xnview »

do you have disabled 'Settings>General>File operations>use output filename after save as'?
Pierre.
tillwe
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2023 1:27 pm

Re: Can't get my Classic workflow to work in MP ...

Post by tillwe »

xnview wrote: Fri Sep 01, 2023 8:01 am do you have disabled 'Settings>General>File operations>use output filename after save as'?
Yes, that is disabled. Or at least, I thought it was disabled. In fact, it was shown as unchecked. I checked it, tested the new behavior, and unchecked it again - and now it works.

Seems to me that the default for this option isn't shown correctly.

P.S.: After some more testing: that option works only some of the time, and is sometimes silently resetted to "using the new file name" without showing it.