Incorrect settings

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView MP.

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

artsi
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2022 2:31 pm

Incorrect settings

Post by artsi »

XnViewMP 1.3.0 appimage on debian.

Question 2:

I must have some wrong settings, but which one?

Every time I click on a directory, xnviewmp rescan the directory and it seems to rebuild the thumbnails, every time. I only have 1 directory with only 700 images on my SSD drive and every operation takes about 20 seconds, because it rebuilds the thumbnails every time.

Shouldn't it cache the already built thumbnails?

Obviously I did something wrong but I don't know what.

Question 2:

Is there a way of restricting the image scanning to only 1 directory + the subdirectories. I don't need anything else. I'd like something:

include /home/artsi/photos
exclude /home/artsi

Thanks
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 38837
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Incorrect settings

Post by xnview »

artsi wrote: Sun Sep 11, 2022 2:49 pm Shouldn't it cache the already built thumbnails?
yes, what do you have in settings>catalog?
Is there a way of restricting the image scanning to only 1 directory + the subdirectories. I don't need anything else. I'd like something:

include /home/artsi/photos
exclude /home/artsi
yes in settings>Catalog - excluded
Pierre.
artsi
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2022 2:31 pm

Re: Incorrect settings

Post by artsi »

xnview wrote: Mon Sep 12, 2022 12:10 pm
artsi wrote: Sun Sep 11, 2022 2:49 pm Shouldn't it cache the already built thumbnails?
yes, what do you have in settings>catalog?

Here's the screenshot. The other tabs excluded/included and tools are empty.

If I change from the darktable directory to the next export, when I come back to the darktable directory if rescan and rebuild the thumbnails which takes around 20 seconds (754 objects)

Thanks
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 38837
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Incorrect settings

Post by xnview »

why do you have a 'base path'?
Pierre.
artsi
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2022 2:31 pm

Re: Incorrect settings

Post by artsi »

xnview wrote: Tue Sep 13, 2022 5:57 am why do you have a 'base path'?
Because that's where the base of the images on this drive are located.

For testing purposing, I just removed the base path and it makes no difference.

Any time I switch directory or operation, XnViewMP rebuilds something. The bar under the info/preview/categories/sets goes 10%,20%,... takes between 20 to 30 seconds (with the base path or without the base path).

I also have deleted all of my configs from the ~/.config/xnviewmp directory and started fresh without any setting changed and it still does the same thing.

Thanks
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 38837
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Incorrect settings

Post by xnview »

artsi wrote: Tue Sep 13, 2022 3:38 pm
xnview wrote: Tue Sep 13, 2022 5:57 am why do you have a 'base path'?
Because that's where the base of the images on this drive are located.
'Base path' is used to shared folder between multiple computers

Any time I switch directory or operation, XnViewMP rebuilds something. The bar under the info/preview/categories/sets goes 10%,20%,... takes between 20 to 30 seconds (with the base path or without the base path).

I also have deleted all of my configs from the ~/.config/xnviewmp directory and started fresh without any setting changed and it still does the same thing.
do you have a .db in the xnviewmp folder?
Pierre.
artsi
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2022 2:31 pm

Re: Incorrect settings

Post by artsi »

xnview wrote: Tue Sep 13, 2022 3:42 pm [do you have a .db in the xnviewmp folder?
Just checked and did a global search and no I don't have one.

How do I create it?

Thanks
artsi
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2022 2:31 pm

Re: Incorrect settings

Post by artsi »

xnview wrote: Tue Sep 13, 2022 3:42 pm [do you have a .db in the xnviewmp folder?
Further info:

When checking the config xnview.ini, I have in the start section:

Code: Select all

LastFilename=
OpenWith=@Invalid()
OpenWithName=@Invalid()
OpenWithParam=@Invalid()
PathBrowser=/home/froggy/temp/darktable/
RecentFiles=@Invalid()
checkFreq=0
customPath=/home/froggy/temp/darktable/
dbFlag=1
dbFolder=
dbThumbFlag=3
dbThumbFolder=
debug=0

The dbfolder and the dbthumbfolder entries are empty

Thanks
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 38837
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Incorrect settings

Post by xnview »

your .db should be in /home/froggy/temp/darktable/
Pierre.
artsi
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2022 2:31 pm

Re: Incorrect settings

Post by artsi »

xnview wrote: Wed Sep 14, 2022 6:46 am your .db should be in /home/froggy/temp/darktable/
It's not there. It doesn't exist.

Code: Select all

find -name "*iew.db" -print
from the home directory, it returns nothing

Thanks
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 38837
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Incorrect settings

Post by xnview »

/home/froggy/temp/darktable/ is normal to save settings?? you have the rights?
Pierre.
artsi
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2022 2:31 pm

Re: Incorrect settings

Post by artsi »

xnview wrote: Wed Sep 14, 2022 3:01 pm /home/froggy/temp/darktable/ is normal to save settings?? you have the rights?
Oh yes, I do. I write there all the time. That's where I do my darktable processing.

I will be deleting everything (xnview) and restarting from zero and see what happens.

Thanks