Shutter speed and aperture not displayed in overlay

Bugs found in XnView Classic. Please report only one bug per topic!

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

macsmol
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2022 10:02 pm

Shutter speed and aperture not displayed in overlay

Post by macsmol »

Subject: 2.50.4: Shutter speed and aperture not displayed in overlay

XnView Classic: 2.50.4 - 64 bit
OS: Windows 64bit

To reproduce
I have a DNG (from Pentax K-3) and jpeg (generated in xn - jpgs from lightroom seem to work fine) files containing exif metadata with shutter speed and aperture. I see them in XNview in Properties(PL:właściwości) window (shortcut Alt+Enter)
I wanted to display these metadata in the overlay.
I pressed F12 to open options.
In the options window I go to Displayer > Full screen section (Wyświetlarka > Pełny ekran in Polish)
I check the show info checkbox (pokaż informacje in Pol)
I paste the following format string:
<Directory><Filename>
Tag: <Tag status>
speed:<Shutter Speed>
aperture<Aperture>
make<Make>


I apply the options.
I view the image and press 'i' key to show overlay.


Effect: I see values for all the data except shutter speed and aperture.

Expected behaviour: I would expect to see the same shutter speed and aperture values as in the Properties window
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 38811
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Shutter speed and aperture not displayed in overlay

Post by xnview »

please send me a sample file?
Pierre.
macsmol
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2022 10:02 pm

Re: Shutter speed and aperture not displayed in overlay

Post by macsmol »

Sure. You can download this one:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1RhX1ru ... sp=sharing

It was taken at f1.4 at 1/8000 second (verified in PS 6.0)
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 38811
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Shutter speed and aperture not displayed in overlay

Post by xnview »

ok, these fields don't exist, exiftool compute them with other fields
Pierre.
macsmol
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2022 10:02 pm

Re: Shutter speed and aperture not displayed in overlay

Post by macsmol »

Thats very confusing then. I must have found the field names somewhere in xnview when i was editing the config string.
Why would xn suggest the field names that are not there?
Are there other fields with the same meaning? If so then maybe the duplicated 'nonexisting' fields can be removed from the suggestion/manual.
macsmol
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2022 10:02 pm

Re: Shutter speed and aperture not displayed in overlay

Post by macsmol »

Hi Pierre. Can you consider fixing this, please? I don't understand why XnView can display EXIF in one dialog but cannot do it in the overlay.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 38811
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Shutter speed and aperture not displayed in overlay

Post by xnview »

it's not a bug, there is no aperture or shutter speed in the EXIF
Pierre.
macsmol
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2022 10:02 pm

Re: Shutter speed and aperture not displayed in overlay

Post by macsmol »

Why is it displayed in the other menu then? Wouldn't it make sense to use the same data source as there?
Regardless of the above my problem is that I cannot conveniently see the exposure params in full screen view. So however you make that possible I'll be content.
At the moment when I view in full screen I have to switch it off, click the "show info" icon and change the tab in the window that appears. Too much clicking! If I could view that info more easily it would be great.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 38811
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Shutter speed and aperture not displayed in overlay

Post by xnview »

macsmol wrote: Sun Oct 02, 2022 2:02 pm Why is it displayed in the other menu then? Wouldn't it make sense to use the same data source as there?
where? could you post a screenshot?
Pierre.
macsmol
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2022 10:02 pm

Re: Shutter speed and aperture not displayed in overlay

Post by macsmol »

Sure. here:
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... sp=sharing
I've posted:
-screenshot of the menu where it's visible
-screenshot of fullscreen view where exif is not visible
-image that was used to reproduce this case.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 38811
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Shutter speed and aperture not displayed in overlay

Post by xnview »

Which fields do you use in Info? With

Code: Select all

<Exposure Time> / <F-Number>
it works
Pierre.
macsmol
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2022 10:02 pm

Re: Shutter speed and aperture not displayed in overlay

Post by macsmol »

All right! It works!
There are other params with similar names and those are the ones I've been using.
The less-than-perfect Polish translation didn't help either. For example the <F-number> tag is labeled as "współczynnik F". Translated back to English that would be "coefficient F" (if you ask me). If I may suggest alternative: "Liczba przysłony" or "Wartość przysłony". These are phrases used on wikipedia article on that subject so I guess they're fine.
exifTagsTranslation.png
This and long list of parameters were the reasons why I couldn't figure it out.

Thanks for help!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.