Display JPEG quality / compression level in info box

Older bugs which are supposed to be fixed in 0.84. *** Please try to reproduce your bug and confirm the bug fix. ***

Moderator: Dreamer

User avatar
pangwolin
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:53 pm

Display JPEG quality / compression level in info box

Post by pangwolin »

Irfanview has a very neat feature: it can display lots of information about a JPG file very fast:

The JPEG quality is very hard to find in XnviewMP, only displayed in a cluttered property box and only in Browser mode.
It would be really good to have these details accessible through the information box in View mode as shown below.

Imagemagick does provide this info through the "identify" tool as follows (probably not the solution for XnViewMP but it's just as an example):[/size]

Code: Select all

>identify -format '%Q ~/user/Pictures/GITS_SITE_1920_AT_31.jpg 
91
Image
Image

Please consider adding this small fix. I skim through a lot of pictures that I have to finely optimize and this info is crucial to me (along with Progressive or not, Greyscale or not, Chroma Subsampling).

Side note: it's funny to see that the value returned in IrfanView is not the same. I guess it's just an estimation. I couldn't find any info on what library he uses for that.

Thanks for supporting this great project on Linux by the way. I'm on my way to donate. :)
User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5720
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: Display JPEG quality / compression level in info box

Post by XnTriq »

Welcome to the forum, pangwolin (-:
pangwolin wrote:I skim through a lot of pictures that I have to finely optimize and this info is crucial to me (along with Progressive or not, Greyscale or not, Chroma Subsampling).
I wholeheartedly support your request!

Related topics:
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 2908
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Display JPEG quality / compression level in info box

Post by cday »

pangwolin wrote: Sun Sep 25, 2016 9:33 pm The JPEG quality is very hard to find in XnviewMP, only displayed in a cluttered property box and only in Browser mode.
It would be really good to have these details accessible through the information box in View mode as shown below.
XnTriq wrote: Sun Sep 25, 2016 10:00 pm Welcome to the forum, pangwolin (-:
pangwolin wrote:I skim through a lot of pictures that I have to finely optimize and this info is crucial to me (along with Progressive or not, Greyscale or not, Chroma Subsampling).
I wholeheartedly support your request!

I often double-click on an image file which then opens in the viewer, I can click on the toolbar 'I' icon and see everything I need except the compression level, for that I have to switch to the browser, and I then usually have to browse to the file which can be slow... :(

This detail change surely wouldn't be difficult to implement? :?:
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 35506
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Display JPEG quality / compression level in info box

Post by xnview »

you have the estimated quality in browser mode and not in viewer?
Pierre.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 2908
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Display JPEG quality / compression level in info box

Post by cday »

xnview wrote: Tue Feb 02, 2021 10:59 am you have the estimated quality in browser mode and not in viewer?
That is exactly the problem and it continues to be a serious inconvenience :( :

Screenshot from 2021-02-02 11-18-41.png
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 35506
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Display JPEG quality / compression level in info box

Post by xnview »

and in browser you have it?
If it's available in browser, i have it in viewer too
Pierre.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 2908
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Display JPEG quality / compression level in info box

Post by cday »

xnview wrote: Tue Feb 02, 2021 11:50 am and in browser you have it?
If it's available in browser, i have it in viewer too
It is available in the browser but not in the viewer...

0.98.1 AppImage and Windows, and all previous versions, I think.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 35506
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Display JPEG quality / compression level in info box

Post by xnview »

i've tried with 0.98.1, and i have 'estimated quality' in browser and viewer
Pierre.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 2908
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Display JPEG quality / compression level in info box

Post by cday »

xnview wrote: Tue Feb 02, 2021 1:06 pm i've tried with 0.98.1, and i have 'estimated quality' in browser and viewer
OK, the problem is that Edit > Properties... shows 'estimated quality', but clicking on the toolbar 'I' icon opens the display above where it is not included...

That's what I always use as it is more convenient, but at least the issue is now identified and can be corrected. :D
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 35506
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Display JPEG quality / compression level in info box

Post by xnview »

cday wrote: Tue Feb 02, 2021 1:28 pm OK, the problem is that Edit > Properties... shows 'estimated quality', but clicking on the toolbar 'I' icon opens the display above where it is not included...
??? but it's the same function
Pierre.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 2908
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Display JPEG quality / compression level in info box

Post by cday »

xnview wrote: Tue Feb 02, 2021 4:45 pm
cday wrote: Tue Feb 02, 2021 1:28 pm OK, the problem is that Edit > Properties... shows 'estimated quality', but clicking on the toolbar 'I' icon opens the display above where it is not included...
??? but it's the same function
Not for me, I posted a screenshot above, could you check please...

Steps to reproduce:

Open a JPEG in the viewer;

Click on the Toolbar 'I' 'Properties' icon.


'Estimated quality' is not displayed.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 35506
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Display JPEG quality / compression level in info box

Post by xnview »

cday wrote: Tue Feb 02, 2021 4:52 pm Not for me, I posted a screenshot above, could you check please...
and in browser (for same image)?
Open a JPEG in the viewer;

Click on the Toolbar 'I' 'Properties' icon.


'Estimated quality' is not displayed.
it works here, you open a jpeg from browser?
Pierre.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 2908
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Display JPEG quality / compression level in info box

Post by cday »

Any way: From the browser, from File > Open... in the viewer: never 'estimated quality' from the 'Properties' icon on the viewer toolbar... :(

Steps to reproduce:

Open a JPEG using File > Open... in the viewer;

Click on the Toolbar 'I' 'Properties' icon.

'Estimated quality' is not displayed.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 35506
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Display JPEG quality / compression level in info box

Post by xnview »

Clipboard-1.jpg
:(
Pierre.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 2908
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Display JPEG quality / compression level in info box

Post by cday »

That is the result of using Edit > Properties... :wink:

The result using the 'steps to reproduce' above is different: it does not include the 'estimated quality' term.

From here in the Royaume-Uni Libre, it seems clear that different code is used by the toolbar 'Properties' icon from that used by Edit > Properties... and the browser.

Using the code used by Edit > Properties... for the toolbar icon should resolve the issue, and also slightly reduce the 'weight' of 'MP... :wink: :D
Post Reply