Color Profile Changed When Saving

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView MP.

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

Gamble222
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2023 9:43 pm

Color Profile Changed When Saving

Post by Gamble222 »

Hi,

I've searched through the other threads relating to colour profiles, but no one has received a response that quite covers my issue.

I am working with some photos that that have an embedded Display P3 profile. When viewing these on an sRGB monitor they look desaturated unless I select an sRGB profile within General>ICC and have "Use ICC profile for monitor" ticked. With this setting enabled, images look identical on both my sRGB and P3 monitors. So far so good!

However, when saving a file, the embedded colour profile is overwritten with whatever profile I have selected in the General>ICC menu. Hence, in my case the P3 images are saved with an sRGB profile. Additionally:
  1. This does not occur when using Batch Convert unless I purposely set up a "convert ICC" action.
  2. If I untick "Use ICC profile for monitor" then the image is saved with the original profile preserved.
  3. Unticking "Keep ICC Profile" in the save options results in the image being saved with no embedded profile (as expected).
Is there a way to save files with the original embedded colour profile preserved without disabling the "Use ICC profile for monitor" option?

Given that it is necessary to have this option ticked to see the correct colours, I feel like I must be missing a setting somewhere or misunderstanding the way it works :? . Surely it's a very common thing to want to view images with correct looking colours and save them without altering the embedded profile.

Any help would be greatly appreciated
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43833
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Color Profile Changed When Saving

Post by xnview »

which version do you use?
Pierre.
Gamble222
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2023 9:43 pm

Re: Color Profile Changed When Saving

Post by Gamble222 »

Hi Pierre,

Thanks for getting back to me so quickly!

I was using 1.5.0. I didn't realise there had been 5 updates to the software since I last updated it in July.

It seems like the bug was fixed in 1.5.1 and works as expected in all later versions.