Trying to wrap text

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView MP.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

kishinnokamen
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2021 8:24 pm

Trying to wrap text

Post by kishinnokamen »

Whenever I try to include long descriptions in a photo, it gets cut off. I try to include this code, and while it works elsewhere, it doesn't seem to be working in XnView. Is there another way to wrap the text?

Code: Select all

<p style="width: 200px">
{IPTC:Caption}
{XMP:Description}
</p>
cicciobello
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 7:08 pm

Re: Trying to wrap text

Post by cicciobello »

Truncated text in info (fullscreen) is a recurrent problem. Version 0.99.7 64bits (Jan 13 2022) correct this problem.
Don't use <p style="width: 200px">. Long description text wrap and is not truncated.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 37621
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Trying to wrap text

Post by xnview »

with 0.99.7?
Pierre.
cicciobello
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 7:08 pm

Re: Trying to wrap text

Post by cicciobello »

With 0.99.7 long text wrapping correctly.

Previous correct release was "Version 0.96.2 64bits (May 5 2020)", but this bug has returned several times.
Latest release correct (again) this bug, but introduce spaces (see my other post).
kishinnokamen
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2021 8:24 pm

Re: Trying to wrap text

Post by kishinnokamen »

cicciobello wrote: Sat Jan 15, 2022 10:02 am Truncated text in info (fullscreen) is a recurrent problem. Version 0.99.7 64bits (Jan 13 2022) correct this problem.
Don't use <p style="width: 200px">. Long description text wrap and is not truncated.
What should I type instead? I'm not terribly familiar with HTML.
kishinnokamen
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2021 8:24 pm

Re: Trying to wrap text

Post by kishinnokamen »

xnview wrote: Sat Jan 15, 2022 1:01 pmwith 0.99.7?
Yeah this still happens with .99.7.
kishinnokamen
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2021 8:24 pm

Re: Trying to wrap text

Post by kishinnokamen »

Does anyone know if there's a way to create a line break every couple of words?
cicciobello
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 7:08 pm

Re: Trying to wrap text

Post by cicciobello »

kishinnokamen wrote: Sat Jan 15, 2022 9:29 pm What should I type instead? I'm not terribly familiar with HTML.
I don't know HTML. Only Copy/Paste from Internet. I use only 2 or 3 tags for my Fullscreen infos.
My description texts are long (all screen width) and this 0.99.7 correct an important bug (truncated long text -> wrap text).