Advise howto manage images over categories

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView MP.

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

soleria

Advise howto manage images over categories

Post by soleria »

Hello,

I'm new to this newsgroup so first of all many thanks to Pierre for all the efforts in this excellent software package.
Secondly I tried to find a kind of best practice for categories or other kind of tagging in standard metadata like XMP/IPTC but was not fully successfull in the newsgroups.

The primary intention of using XnViewMP (on Windows with a NAS device and the A... cloud as backup) is for managing lot of DNG photos.
I started using a folder structure on the NAS but with the more and more pictures I have, I'd like to use some kind of tagging mechanism.
For me categories in XnView seems to be the best option as they allow me find eg. fotos of my children across the complete folder structure later.

What worries me a bit here is the issue of how to keep the categories in case eg. switching systems or software later.
Therefore ideally assigned categories for an image would be saved into each DNG file as well after being assigned in IPTC or XMP metadata including their hierarchy.

So in case of a system change categories could be exported from images and the categories could be rebuild from images.

Would this make sense for you and is writing of categories a standard metadata format like XMP/IPTC into DNG image this supported in XnView and other known image managing software like Lightroom ACDsee etc.?

What I tried is to set categories with XnViewMP into one (DNG) image but when opening it eg. in IrfanView it will not show any Category information in the ITPC metadata, so it seems this information is only stored into the XnViewMP database but not in the image.
Is there any best practice for XnView around?

Thanks,
Tom
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian

Re: Advise howto manage images over categories

Post by XnTriq »

Welcome aboard, Tom.