Resize Me! remove GPS data

Discussions on Android and iOS apps: XnPhotoFx, XnRetro, XnSketch, and so on.

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

User avatar
B.Douille
Posts: 259
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 9:25 pm
Location: Hte Savoie - France

Resize Me! remove GPS data

Post by B.Douille »

Hello,

Using this tool on Android all the pictures loose their GPS metadata. Can you please fix this in a future version?

Resize Me! Pro ver 2.2.13 on Sony XZ2/Android 10
Daniel, promoting XnView since 2004, moved to MP (exclusively) years ago (Platform Windows and Linux Ubuntu)
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43611
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Resize Me! remove GPS data

Post by xnview »

could you send me a sample file used?
Pierre.
User avatar
B.Douille
Posts: 259
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 9:25 pm
Location: Hte Savoie - France

Re: Resize Me! remove GPS data

Post by B.Douille »

Hello Pierre, here attached a sample picture original taken in Talmont St Hilaire (GPS location visible in the album, and in XnView).
The second file is the same, cropped to show only the harbour only. The album doesn't show the location anymore because the values are null.
The map in XnView shows the exact position 00° N, 00°E, in the Atlantic, in front of Africa costs (screenshot 3rd file).
XnView GP position.JPG
20230301_184428_Bourgenay - Original.jpg
20230301_184428_Bourgenay - Recadré Resize Me.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Daniel, promoting XnView since 2004, moved to MP (exclusively) years ago (Platform Windows and Linux Ubuntu)
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43611
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Resize Me! remove GPS data

Post by xnview »

i've tried and no problem here. you use the 'Crop & resize' button, right? what do you have in settings? Which android version? Is it 'ResizeMe Pro'?
Pierre.
User avatar
B.Douille
Posts: 259
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 9:25 pm
Location: Hte Savoie - France

Re: Resize Me! remove GPS data

Post by B.Douille »

Yes, it's ResizeMe Pro!
Crop & Resize
my Sony XZ2 runs Android 10
Screenshots of the settings attached. GPS data should be OK.

It worked in the past. I can't tell you when this failed but it's months ago for sure.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Daniel, promoting XnView since 2004, moved to MP (exclusively) years ago (Platform Windows and Linux Ubuntu)
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43611
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Resize Me! remove GPS data

Post by xnview »

B.Douille wrote: Mon Mar 18, 2024 9:17 am Yes, it's ResizeMe Pro!
Crop & Resize
my Sony XZ2 runs Android 10
Screenshots of the settings attached. GPS data should be OK.

It worked in the past. I can't tell you when this failed but it's months ago for sure.
i've tried on simulator, and no problem. Do you have tried to uninstall/install?
Pierre.
User avatar
B.Douille
Posts: 259
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 9:25 pm
Location: Hte Savoie - France

Re: Resize Me! remove GPS data

Post by B.Douille »

I think I did it already in the past but anyway. I cleared all the data before de-installing. I reinstalled and tested.
Same problem.
just to ensure : the container for GPS data is three but it's all blank, null (see screenshot from EXIF Pro)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Daniel, promoting XnView since 2004, moved to MP (exclusively) years ago (Platform Windows and Linux Ubuntu)
User avatar
B.Douille
Posts: 259
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 9:25 pm
Location: Hte Savoie - France

Re: Resize Me! remove GPS data

Post by B.Douille »

Additional test, using one's Google Pixel 5 / Android 14
I installed ResizeMe (the free version) but then not only the GPS but ALL the EXIF metadata was whipped 😯

I checked the Play Store and it's said "* Keep EXIF tags
* Keep GPS data" so definitely something wrong.
Daniel, promoting XnView since 2004, moved to MP (exclusively) years ago (Platform Windows and Linux Ubuntu)
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43611
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Resize Me! remove GPS data

Post by xnview »

if you use 'batch convert', do you have GPS/EXIF? And with XnConvert?
Pierre.
User avatar
B.Douille
Posts: 259
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 9:25 pm
Location: Hte Savoie - France

Re: Resize Me! remove GPS data

Post by B.Douille »

Interesting.
The batch mode of ResizeMe keeps the EXIF data unchanged. So only the single mode is bugy.
Using XnConvert works fine as well
Daniel, promoting XnView since 2004, moved to MP (exclusively) years ago (Platform Windows and Linux Ubuntu)