[mac][possible bug]Batch conversion blp to tga

XnConvert Multi Platform - Windows, MacOSX, Linux

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

moonwitch
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 9:05 pm

[mac][possible bug]Batch conversion blp to tga

Post by moonwitch »

Hi,

I apologise if I haven't thoroughly looked, but I really tried. I've got 2 minor issues; one drag and drop folder/add folder isn't accepted on the Mac OS version. And two; can't figure out the correct settings for my output.

I am trying to batch convert all blp files within a folder structure while maintaining the folder structure. (aka, converting all blp files from Blizzard Interface art to TGA while keeping the structure intact)

eg ./Interface/BUTTONS/*.blp as input and as output /Converted/Interface/BUTTONS/*.tga

Ideally, I'd end up just dropping the entire Interface folder into XNConvert, but it refuses to accept a folder (drag n drop or Add folder), so I am stuck adding file per file.

For reference: I am using XnConvert from the site to avoid the MacAppStore sandboxing.
Last edited by moonwitch on Sun Nov 17, 2013 12:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 4047
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Batch conversion blp to tga

Post by cday »

You're using XnConvert [1.55] or the command line NConvert [6.35] ?

Either way, welcome to the forum, and apologies for asking but the similarity in the names of the various XnView programs does result in frequent posts under the wrong heading.

Looking at the Windows version of XnConvert, I don't immediately see any obvious problem in adding a nominated folder as input or in placing the converted images into a nominated folder.

If you're actually using NConvert, it would be helpful if you post the full command line you are using.
moonwitch
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 9:05 pm

Re: Batch conversion blp to tga

Post by moonwitch »

Actually I've tried both. I tried nConvert because I couldn't get the Add Folder function to work in XnConvert, figured cmd would offer me the wild card symbol.

But I've got XnConvert to put the files sorta where I want them. (I had to Uncheck Keep Folder Structure to keep the folder structure - see screenshot https://www.dropbox.com/s/tqqs7q2eee1uz ... .18.15.PNG

Now just Add folder and I am happy.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 4047
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Batch conversion blp to tga

Post by cday »

moonwitch wrote:Now just Add folder and I am happy.
I'm using Windows and haven't used XnConvert that much, but I had a quick look and did a quick test and it looks like the sequence is:

Input tab -- 'Add folder' button... -- 'Choose a directory' window opens -- Browse to folder -- 'Select Folder' button .

That placed all the images in the selected folder into the XnConvert Input window.

If that doesn't work on a Mac there may be a bug -- or I may not have explained it correctly!
moonwitch
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 9:05 pm

Re: Batch conversion blp to tga

Post by moonwitch »

Yeah, I am leaning towards a bug. The behaviour should be the same, yet I click "Add Folder", select my folder, but the images don't get added to the input list.

But thanks for your help!
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 4047
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Batch conversion blp to tga

Post by cday »

moonwitch wrote:Yeah, I am leaning towards a bug. The behaviour should be the same, yet I click "Add Folder", select my folder, but the images don't get added to the input list.
After clicking "Add Folder" and selecting the folder, you do have the "Select folder" button displayed and click on it?
moonwitch
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 9:05 pm

Re: Batch conversion blp to tga

Post by moonwitch »

I have that button just fine, it doesn't seem to perform its function.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/xww2jaaxfuamw ... .04.58.PNG
I click "Choose", the window disappears and I am back at XnConvert without the folder being added.

If I try to drag and drop a folder from Finder into the Input field, same result. The cursor will change but no files get added.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 4047
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Batch conversion blp to tga

Post by cday »

OK, the Mac interface is understandably different, you seem to have a "Choose" buton in place of "Select Folder" -- you are clicking on that and nothing happens...

That looks like a bug for Pierre XnView ...

Meanwhile -- if it's important -- you could revert to NConvert and post your command line: people often get the syntax wrong, in particular not realising that the input file(s) come at the end, but you may need a Linux user to troubleshoot it.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43995
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Batch conversion blp to tga

Post by xnview »

Bug confirmed and will be fixed. See issue 153 for current status and details
Pierre.