0.64 x64 Linux: Explorer Option in Browser not Working

Bugs and Suggestions in XnView MP or XnConvert MP which have been resolved.

Moderator: XnTriq

yossic00
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 9:15 am

0.64 x64 Linux: Explorer Option in Browser not Working

Post by yossic00 »

Hi,

When right clicking a folder in the browser window and selecting the 'Explorer' option nothing happens. I've noticed from the print outs that it tries to execute:
gvfs-open: file://media/...

It looks like a slash is missing, it should be:
gvfs-open: file:///media/...

yossi
User avatar
Akovia
Posts: 114
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2011 2:10 am

Re: 0.64 x64 Linux: Explorer Option in Browser not Working

Post by Akovia »

Same here. +1
Arch Linux
XnView MP
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36805
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: 0.64 x64 Linux: Explorer Option in Browser not Working

Post by xnview »

I can't reproduce on ubuntu 10, no problem with nautilus
ubuntu 12?
Pierre.
yossic00
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 9:15 am

Re: 0.64 x64 Linux: Explorer Option in Browser not Working

Post by yossic00 »

xnview wrote:I can't reproduce on ubuntu 10, no problem with nautilus
ubuntu 12?
On Ubuntu 13.10; the error appears after right-clicking on the Pictures folder and selecting Explorer:
xn_noopen.png
Thanks,
Yossi
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Akovia
Posts: 114
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2011 2:10 am

Re: 0.64 x64 Linux: Explorer Option in Browser not Working

Post by Akovia »

Here's my error with Thunar:

Code: Select all

Thunar: Failed to open "/Elements/Backups/H-Drive/Graphics/Anime-Manga Graphics/Anime Art/[Series]/Kara No Kyokai": Error when getting information for file '/Elements/Backups/H-Drive/Graphics/Anime-Manga Graphics/Anime Art/[Series]/Kara No Kyokai': No such file or directory
Arch Linux
XnView MP
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36805
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: 0.64 x64 Linux: Explorer Option in Browser not Working

Post by xnview »

With any folder??
Pierre.
yossic00
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 9:15 am

Re: 0.64 x64 Linux: Explorer Option in Browser not Working

Post by yossic00 »

xnview wrote:With any folder??
I've tested on several folders and if it is a top level folder (e.g. /home or /media) it opens the explorer window but if it is any non top level folder (e.g. /media/a or /media/a/b etc.) it gives the error message.

Yossi
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36805
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: 0.64 x64 Linux: Explorer Option in Browser not Working

Post by xnview »

Strange, i've tried on ubuntu 12 & 13 with a mounted volume, and no problem
Pierre.
User avatar
Akovia
Posts: 114
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2011 2:10 am

Re: 0.64 x64 Linux: Explorer Option in Browser not Working

Post by Akovia »

I'm getting a little different behavior. It will open fine in any subfolder of home, but not mounted media.

Looking at the command line output it seems to me that when it's the root folder it only has a single forward slash in the pathname. "/"
When it's deeper than the root folder, the path is prepended with two forward slashes. "//"

From the command line output:

Code: Select all

BrowserWindow :: updateMenu()
 CHECK : <FU_scripts.zip>
LOAD BITMAP <//media/Elements/Temp/FU_scripts.zip>
GFF :: LoadThumbnail : 2 
 CHECK : <Gimp from scratch scripts.zip>
LOAD BITMAP <//media/Elements/Temp/Gimp from scratch scripts.zip>
GFF :: LoadThumbnail : 2 
 CHECK : <gimp-scripts.zip>
LOAD BITMAP <//media/Elements/Temp/gimp-scripts.zip>
GFF :: LoadThumbnail : 2 
 CHECK : <gimp_plug-ins.zip>
LOAD BITMAP <//media/Elements/Temp/gimp_plug-ins.zip>
GFF :: LoadThumbnail : 2 
 CHECK : <menurc>
LOAD BITMAP <//media/Elements/Temp/menurc>
GFF :: LoadThumbnail : 2 
 CHECK : <MoviesBluRay.tar.gz.crdownload>
LOAD BITMAP <//media/Elements/Temp/MoviesBluRay.tar.gz.crdownload>
GFF :: LoadThumbnail : 2 
LOAD BITMAP </media/Elements/.windows-serial>
GFF :: LoadThumbnail : 2 
ThumbLoaderThread - ADD into DB (6942)
LOAD BITMAP </media/Elements/AllChars-4.0.321.msi>
GFF :: LoadThumbnail : 2 
ThumbLoaderThread - ADD into DB (6943)
LOAD BITMAP </media/Elements/autorun.inf>
GFF :: LoadThumbnail : 2 
ThumbLoaderThread - ADD into DB (6945)
LOAD BITMAP </media/Elements/cbSetup.exe>
GFF :: LoadThumbnail : 2 
ThumbLoaderThread - ADD into DB (6946)
LOAD BITMAP </media/Elements/CobIT_setup.exe>
GFF :: LoadThumbnail : 2 
ThumbLoaderThread - ADD into DB (6947)
LOAD BITMAP </media/Elements/CobViewInstall_ShellEx.exe>
GFF :: LoadThumbnail : 2 
ThumbLoaderThread - ADD into DB (6948)
LOAD BITMAP </media/Elements/Commador Extended Normal.ttf>
GFF :: LoadThumbnail : 2 
ThumbLoaderThread - ADD into DB (-1)
I also noticed this anomaly (at least to me)

Code: Select all

BrowserWindow :: updateMenu()
BrowserWindow :: updateMenu()
## onItemPressed
setPathname </media/Elements/>
ThumbLoaderThread :: stop()
### ThumbLoaderThread :: stop() ok
### ThumbLoaderThread :: setFileList(0)
ThumbLoaderThread :: stop()
### ThumbLoaderThread :: stop() ok
### ThumbLoaderThread :: setFileList ok
######ThumbLoaderThread :: forever 2 : 2ed93b0 
CHECK <0> 
######ThumbLoaderThread :: forever : 2ed93b0 
## OPEN FOLDER
## OPEN FOLDER ok
## updateLabels
## updateLabels ok
ThumbLoaderThread :: stop()
### ThumbLoaderThread :: stop() ok
TIME  0  
 AFTER WAIT
setPathname <//media/Elements/>
Notice the two references to setPathname. They are set differently. Maybe it's supposed to be this way, but looks weird to me.
Arch Linux
XnView MP
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36805
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: 0.64 x64 Linux: Explorer Option in Browser not Working

Post by xnview »

It's related to this bug

Ok, i can reproduce, when you restart XnViewMP on media, i have //media
Pierre.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36805
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: 0.64 x64 Linux: Explorer Option in Browser not Working

Post by xnview »

See Issue 324 for current status and details.
Pierre.
User avatar
Akovia
Posts: 114
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2011 2:10 am

Re: 0.64 x64 Linux: Explorer Option in Browser not Working

Post by Akovia »

Thank you Pierre :)
Looking forward to 0.65!
Arch Linux
XnView MP
yossic00
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 9:15 am

Re: 0.64 x64 Linux: Explorer Option in Browser not Working

Post by yossic00 »

Working in 0.67 with Ubuntu 14.03.

Thanks,
Yossi