Tab Width's default size?

Bugs and Suggestions in XnView MP or XnConvert MP which have been resolved.

Moderator: XnTriq

Post Reply
User avatar
budz45
XnThusiast
Posts: 1597
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 6:05 pm
Location: UK

Tab Width's default size?

Post by budz45 » Wed Oct 20, 2010 6:34 pm

Does anyone agree it would be better if the default tab width was set to something like '20'. The current default is '99'. Of course users could configure the width, which is great, but in considering the default to something slimmer
Image

What does anyone think?
Last edited by budz45 on Thu Oct 21, 2010 1:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
All My Topics || my 'MP' Topics
My own Bookmarked topics--->for me only

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 30023
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Tab Width's default size?

Post by xnview » Thu Oct 21, 2010 9:11 am

Yes i think that it's better...
Pierre.

User avatar
budz45
XnThusiast
Posts: 1597
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 6:05 pm
Location: UK

Re: Tab Width's default size?

Post by budz45 » Thu Oct 21, 2010 4:39 pm

Thanks for agreeing, you should make '20' the new default tab width. It would look tidier.
All My Topics || my 'MP' Topics
My own Bookmarked topics--->for me only

User avatar
budz45
XnThusiast
Posts: 1597
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 6:05 pm
Location: UK

Re: Tab Width's default size?

Post by budz45 » Fri Jul 15, 2011 3:04 pm

Hmmm..

Rather than specifying the Tab's maximum width by filename characters ('max character width')...

..Perhaps a secondary option for specifying width in pixels too and let any longer filenames than that width truncate to the pixel size.

I made this small video on 'tab size jump' with current 'max character width' solution (normal behaviour, not a bug):
tabber jabber lol.zip
(100.23 KiB) Downloaded 225 times
Related topic; http://newsgroup.xnview.com/viewtopic.php?f=62&t=21542

So I could suggest a secondary option as I think that a lot of users are satisfied with the existing 'max character width' solution and for this not be fully replaced but complimented with a secondary option.

I then made this quick UI mock-up to show what it would look like:
Untitled.png
Untitled.png (2.99 KiB) Viewed 3649 times
Settings>Interface>Tabs

So default pixel size could be '170'. Additionally, perhaps by default, the setting would disallow user-specifying less than '100' pixels.

-----
This is not an important feature for now, but for future 8) Thanks for reading.
All My Topics || my 'MP' Topics
My own Bookmarked topics--->for me only

User avatar
budz45
XnThusiast
Posts: 1597
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 6:05 pm
Location: UK

Re: Tab Width's default size?

Post by budz45 » Thu Jan 12, 2012 1:49 am

To deal with tab 'jump' in width-size, look at this Animated GIF I created to illustrate:

Image
All My Topics || my 'MP' Topics
My own Bookmarked topics--->for me only

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 30023
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Tab Width's default size?

Post by xnview » Thu Jan 12, 2012 3:01 pm

budz45 wrote:To deal with tab 'jump' in width-size, look at this Animated GIF I created to illustrate:

Image
Oh ok, i understand...
Pierre.

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8145
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Tab Width's default size?

Post by helmut » Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:12 pm

Good suggestion, budz. A minor change in your screen design:
Tab size 02.png
Tab size 02.png (2.31 KiB) Viewed 3484 times
Would be cool if the value changed to a reasonable/previously used value when changing the selection in the dropdownlist.

User avatar
budz45
XnThusiast
Posts: 1597
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 6:05 pm
Location: UK

Re: Tab Width's default size?

Post by budz45 » Fri Jan 13, 2012 2:03 pm

Hi again,

Ok, on this topic, I am now thinking something newer to solve everything :D I was took a screenshot of XYplorer's tab options which helped in inspiring me.

...Im thinking that there should be 2 new options inside the same circle-ui:
*'Fixed width' [Tickbox]+[user entry] --->would fix the aforementioned issue of 'tab jump' by keeping all tabs the same size by specifying a pixel width (see animated GIF in previous post)
*'Max view tabs' [user entry] --->fixes the issues of these topics: http://newsgroup.xnview.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=23640 & http://newsgroup.xnview.com/viewtopic.p ... 829#p94829

..Ok, so this is the current Settings>Interface>Tabs layout
current tab options.png
current tab options.png (43.82 KiB) Viewed 3449 times
Now here is the new Settings>Interface>Tabs layout, with the changes I added to reflect the requests:
newer requested Tab menu options Jan13-2012.png
newer requested Tab menu options Jan13-2012.png (51.12 KiB) Viewed 3427 times
  • Will see that the "open only one image tab" has been replaced with a "max view tabs" tickbox entry. Same function only better.
  • The- "Syncrhonize Browser when view is closed" and "Closing last tab exits XnView" - have been swapped position around. :)
  • Included the 'thumbnail/icon' drop-down (file Icon for tabs) of this other topic: http://newsgroup.xnview.com/viewtopic.php?p=99171
  • The 'max view tabs' and 'thumbnail/icon' drop-down would get greyed out if not in use (not ticked).
  • The 'Fixed width' would make the same width for all opened view tabs
:D :)
Last edited by budz45 on Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:33 pm, edited 5 times in total.
All My Topics || my 'MP' Topics
My own Bookmarked topics--->for me only

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 30023
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Tab Width's default size?

Post by xnview » Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:18 am

Please check XnViewMP 0.48
Pierre.

User avatar
budz45
XnThusiast
Posts: 1597
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 6:05 pm
Location: UK

Re: Tab Width's default size?

Post by budz45 » Thu Apr 19, 2012 11:48 pm

xnview wrote:Please check XnViewMP 0.48
Thank you so much for adding tab 'pixel' width specifying into XnViewMP 0.48 :D :D
All My Topics || my 'MP' Topics
My own Bookmarked topics--->for me only

Post Reply