1.4.5 - viewer - save as - original image remains open once saved to another folder

*** Please report new bugs here! ***

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview, Dreamer

User avatar
user0
XnThusiast
Posts: 1378
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 9:37 am

1.4.5 - viewer - save as - original image remains open once saved to another folder

Post by user0 »

XnViewMP 1.4.5 64bit
Windows11 (22H2), display resolution 3840x2160, win scaling 150%


Viewer - save as
original image remains open once saved to another folder

To reproduce:
1. run clean portable XnViewMP
2. open image
3. (OPTIONAL) modify image so it will be easy to check difference later
4. press SHIFT+CTRL+S to Save as
  • A - OK
    - select same folder (format does not matter)
    - press Save
    image will be saved, Viewer shows new image file
  • B - issue
    - select different folder (format does not matter)
    - press Save
    image will be saved, but Viewer still shows original image
    (press CTRL+R - it will be reloaded to original state)

Expected behaviour:
- A,B cases behavior is not consistent, it must be unified into correct one (A)
- B case - Viewer must switch filelist focus to the new file after saving via "Save As"


Suggestion
if you want to keep original image in current tab after saving -
  • add new command "Save a Copy..." (ALT+CTRL+S)



Related
Last edited by user0 on Sun Dec 24, 2023 8:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 43132
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: 1.4.5 - viewer - save as - original image remain opened when saved to another folder

Post by xnview »

it's related to Settings>General>File operations - Use output filename after...
Pierre.
User avatar
user0
XnThusiast
Posts: 1378
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 9:37 am

Re: 1.4.5 - viewer - save as - original image remain opened when saved to another folder

Post by user0 »

1.4.5
B does not depend on "Use output filename after 'Save as'" checkbox

1.6.3
B issue remains
if you want to save new file AND keep original image open - this shall be done via new "Save a Copy..." command, not existing "Save As..."


Last bumped by user0 on Sun Dec 24, 2023 8:12 pm.