MP 0.98.4 Batch Converter strips Categories

*** Please report new bugs here! ***

Moderator: Dreamer

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36431
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: MP 0.98.4 Batch Converter strips Categories

Post by xnview »

Rick wrote: Sat Oct 16, 2021 1:26 am
xnview wrote: Fri Oct 15, 2021 8:40 am it's not really a 'move'. I've tried with your sample file (which has XMP metadata), and the output file has too XMP metadata (and EXIF too).
Well I don't know what you call it but if I resize only, assigned categories stay
If I resize and put itin another folder the categories are stripped out
And if you disabled 'delete original'? what do you have in jpeg settings?
Pierre.
User avatar
Rick
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 4:10 pm

Re: MP 0.98.4 Batch Converter strips Categories

Post by Rick »

xnview wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 9:30 am
Rick wrote: Sat Oct 16, 2021 1:26 am
xnview wrote: Fri Oct 15, 2021 8:40 am it's not really a 'move'. I've tried with your sample file (which has XMP metadata), and the output file has too XMP metadata (and EXIF too).
Well I don't know what you call it but if I resize only, assigned categories stay
If I resize and put itin another folder the categories are stripped out
And if you disabled 'delete original'? what do you have in jpeg settings?
If I uncheck "delete original" the original has the category settings and the copied version has NO category settings
Here are the JPG settings
jpeg.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
--
Rick
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36431
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: MP 0.98.4 Batch Converter strips Categories

Post by xnview »

so the same thing. And if you remove the action?
Pierre.
User avatar
Rick
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 4:10 pm

Re: MP 0.98.4 Batch Converter strips Categories

Post by Rick »

Rick wrote: Tue Oct 19, 2021 7:52 pm
xnview wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 9:30 am
Rick wrote: Sat Oct 16, 2021 1:26 am
Well I don't know what you call it but if I resize only, assigned categories stay
If I resize and put itin another folder the categories are stripped out
And if you disabled 'delete original'? what do you have in jpeg settings?
If I uncheck "delete original" the original has the category settings and the copied version has NO category settings
Here are the JPG settings
jpeg.jpg
The categories are gone when only moving and not using an action
--
Rick
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36431
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: MP 0.98.4 Batch Converter strips Categories

Post by xnview »

Rick wrote: Wed Oct 20, 2021 5:05 pm The categories are gone when only moving and not using an action
what do you means, if you actions, all is ok?
Pierre.
User avatar
Rick
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 4:10 pm

Re: MP 0.98.4 Batch Converter strips Categories

Post by Rick »

xnview wrote: Thu Oct 21, 2021 5:49 am
Rick wrote: Wed Oct 20, 2021 5:05 pm The categories are gone when only moving and not using an action
what do you means, if you actions, all is ok?
Actions without moving work. Action AND moving strips the categories. Moving with NO actions strips the categories
--
Rick
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36431
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: MP 0.98.4 Batch Converter strips Categories

Post by xnview »

I can't reproduce :( Please send me your .ini?
Pierre.
User avatar
Rick
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 4:10 pm

Re: MP 0.98.4 Batch Converter strips Categories

Post by Rick »

xnview wrote: Thu Oct 28, 2021 6:17 am I can't reproduce :( Please send me your .ini?
Here it is ...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
--
Rick
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36431
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: MP 0.98.4 Batch Converter strips Categories

Post by xnview »

I've tried your xnview.ini, but 'keep metadata' was disabled so XMP metadata are not copied.

If i enable it:
Capture-2.jpg
Capture-3.jpg
As you can see Before and new file have XMP metadata and keywords...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Pierre.
User avatar
Rick
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 4:10 pm

Re: MP 0.98.4 Batch Converter strips Categories

Post by Rick »

xnview wrote: Mon Nov 15, 2021 10:28 am I've tried your xnview.ini, but 'keep metadata' was disabled so XMP metadata are not copied.

If i enable it:

As you can see Before and new file have XMP metadata and keywords...
I searched the INI file and couldn't find setting anywhere. What section is it in?
Thanks
--
Rick
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36431
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: MP 0.98.4 Batch Converter strips Categories

Post by xnview »

Rick wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 12:02 am
xnview wrote: Mon Nov 15, 2021 10:28 am I've tried your xnview.ini, but 'keep metadata' was disabled so XMP metadata are not copied.

If i enable it:

As you can see Before and new file have XMP metadata and keywords...
I searched the INI file and couldn't find setting anywhere. What section is it in?
I means 'Preserve metadata' in batch convert
Pierre.
User avatar
Rick
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 4:10 pm

Re: MP 0.98.4 Batch Converter strips Categories

Post by Rick »

Pierre, I have meta data checked an it still strips categories which I narrowed down to the move part of the process
--
Rick
User avatar
michel038
Posts: 785
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 8:18 am
Location: France

Re: MP 0.98.4 Batch Converter strips Categories

Post by michel038 »

In short, here's how it works for me : (many tests)
With photos having xmp or iptc keywords and categories, the batch process "resize" and "write to another folder" will write the new photos, with their keywords if "preserve metadata" is checked.
The categories will be assigned to the new photos only if "import keywords" is enabled in the metadata settings.

If the original photos do not have keywords, but only categories, it is impossible to make the categories to be copied on the new photos
It's not a bug for me , because new photos are different from originals, it's not a real move ...
But if " Delete original " is selected, a warning or an option should prevent categories loss...
------------

There is a way to cause a related bug, it is to add the IPTC IIM action ; this action does not work since V0.96.1, and it erases the xmp and iptc metadata
(instead we must use Tools>metadata>transfer)

With this IPTC IIM action, in xnview.ini I can find
<IPTC-IIM_XMP keepKeywords=\"true\" replace=\"false\" mode=\"0\"/>\n "
in lastActions= of the [convert] section ...
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36431
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: MP 0.98.4 Batch Converter strips Categories

Post by xnview »

Rick wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 7:19 pm Pierre, I have meta data checked an it still strips categories which I narrowed down to the move part of the process
I've tried on a clean windows with your .ini (only 'keep metadata' changed), and can't reproduce :(
Pierre.
User avatar
Rick
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 4:10 pm

Re: MP 0.98.4 Batch Converter strips Categories

Post by Rick »

michel038 wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 9:39 pm In short, here's how it works for me : (many tests)
With photos having xmp or iptc keywords and categories, the batch process "resize" and "write to another folder" will write the new photos, with their keywords if "preserve metadata" is checked.
The categories will be assigned to the new photos only if "import keywords" is enabled in the metadata settings.

If the original photos do not have keywords, but only categories, it is impossible to make the categories to be copied on the new photos
It's not a bug for me , because new photos are different from originals, it's not a real move ...
But if " Delete original " is selected, a warning or an option should prevent categories loss...
Ok thanks although I hope they look into this and if it is not a bug then lets have an "enhancement" :D
Pierre says he does not have the issue so I think I will try it from a totally fresh XnView and see what happens

thanks again
--
Rick