Crop - Save selection as - BUG

Older bugs which are supposed to be fixed in 0.84. *** Please try to reproduce your bug and confirm the bug fix. ***

Moderator: Dreamer

Post Reply
xiofen
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 4:55 am

Crop - Save selection as - BUG

Post by xiofen » Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:57 pm

XnView MP 0.88 32 bit Win10

When viewing an image - select an area to crop, then select "Save selection as.."

1. The file is not saved to the location.
2. When attempting to save the selection again with the same filename XnViewMp reports "XX already exists replace it"
2i. If answer yes to "replace" the program reports "file is set to read only"

I have checked with windows explorer, also cmd.exe - the file does not exist at the location.

This works (no bug) in 0.87

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 29581
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Crop - Save selection as - BUG

Post by xnview » Mon Dec 04, 2017 12:12 pm

i can't reproduce, you use the crop bar tools right?
Pierre.

User avatar
KPAH
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 8:26 am
Location: Snowierasha

Re: Crop - Save selection as - BUG

Post by KPAH » Thu Jan 25, 2018 1:26 pm

xnview wrote:i can't reproduce, you use the crop bar tools right?
Hi Pierre,
It's been a while. :)

This only happens on Win 10 _32bit_ version.
I.e. I download Version 0.89 32bits (Jan 15 2018) and run it in Win 10 64 all is fine.
However, if I run the same vesion on Win10 32bit, it starts saving all Clipboard imports as read-only, regardless of the path. It also happens when running XNViewMP as admin.
The issue is new, it was not present it earlier builds. I.e. Version 0.84 x32 (Jan 12 2017) works fine on the same Win10 32bit machine. And the issue is in xviewmp.exe, not the modules, since I just copied jan 2017 .exe in jan2018 fresh install and it worked.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 29581
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Crop - Save selection as - BUG

Post by xnview » Fri Jan 26, 2018 6:30 am

KPAH wrote: However, if I run the same vesion on Win10 32bit, it starts saving all Clipboard imports as read-only, regardless of the path. It also happens when running XNViewMP as admin.
could you explain more please
Pierre.

User avatar
KPAH
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 8:26 am
Location: Snowierasha

Re: Crop - Save selection as - BUG

Post by KPAH » Fri Jan 26, 2018 10:25 am

xnview wrote: could you explain more please
I recorded a screencast. Basically, all I do is press PrnScrn, then import and save the files. Build .89 saves as read only, build .084 as normal files.


Again, you have to try it on a 32bit Windows, as the issues cannot be reproduced running 32bit XnView on 64bit Windows.
Last edited by KPAH on Mon Jan 29, 2018 2:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 29581
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Crop - Save selection as - BUG

Post by xnview » Mon Jan 29, 2018 10:17 am

:bugconfirmed: Thanks to your detailed description I can reproduce the problem.
Pierre.

User avatar
KPAH
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 8:26 am
Location: Snowierasha

Re: Crop - Save selection as - BUG

Post by KPAH » Mon Jan 29, 2018 2:44 pm

it also sometimes saves as SYSTEM, which is even worse. In this case, when you overwrite the same file (i.e. save another Clipboard-1.png), it looks like the file was saved, no errors pop up. However, XNView actually fails to save the file, and you end up loosing them.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 29581
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Crop - Save selection as - BUG

Post by xnview » Mon Feb 12, 2018 10:12 am

This problem is supposed to be fixed in XnView MP 0.90. Please check and confirm the bug fix here.
Pierre.

Post Reply