Draw tool: add grid functionality

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView MP

Moderators: helmut, XnTriq, xnview

HanVroon
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 7:30 am

Draw tool: add grid functionality

Post by HanVroon »

Hi Pierre (and Helmut, as extensive Draw tool beta tester :) )

My girlfriend is in a process of creating 50 cards with photos, and for every card a word must be added in all four corners.
I pointed her to the new Draw tool and she is trying to work with that. We don't use other photo editing software.
Because she wants the text to always have the same colour, she puts the text boxes on a rectangle with lower opacity so hat the text is always clearly vissible.

The chalenge:
Because rectangles have to be sized by dragging, it is very difficult to get all the rectangles at the same hight.
Especially because the x/y cursor position is not shown like in the classic version (would be nice to have too!!!).

The wish:
It would be very nice to be able to enable a grid funtion in the Draw tool.
In the same way as the grid function in View mode, so with all the setings as in menu View, Grid settings.
In such a way one is able to position rectangles and so precisely, by setting the spacing so that boxes will always be (for example) five lines high.

Would that be a good idea?
Best regards,
Han
User avatar
helmut
Moderator
Posts: 8575
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Draw tool: add grid functionality

Post by helmut »

A grid is a good suggestion for a future XnView version, HanVroon.

A simple and also helpful support might be displaying current cursor position and the width/height of shapes (rectangle, circle, line) when drawing them.
HanVroon
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 7:30 am

Re: Draw tool: add grid functionality

Post by HanVroon »

Correct, when starting drawing a rectangle, put the cursor on x=10 and y=10, and then when dragging, showing the coordinates of the opposite corner would help.
And then, later, the grid :)

Regards,
Han
HanVroon
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 7:30 am

Re: Draw tool: add grid functionality

Post by HanVroon »

Hi Pierre,

Is it possible to show the mouse coordinates in Draw?
Like in XnView Classic's Paint?

In a way that the coordinates are always visible when - for example - drawing a rectangle?

Regards,
Han