[0.61]I don't know how to call this bug, details inside

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView MP

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
BK201
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:43 pm

[0.61]I don't know how to call this bug, details inside

Post by BK201 » Fri Aug 30, 2013 4:50 pm

Sample file attached, please download & extract & browse it, see if you have the same problem.

Sample file is a BMP image, IIRC BMP never support alpha channel, but on my MP, it looks transparent. While mspaint shows the correct result

How it looks in my MP
Image

How it looks in mspaint. This is what it should looks like
Image

Comparison
Image
Attachments
sample.7z
Sample image file
(19.65 KiB) Downloaded 27 times

quapurna
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 4:55 pm
Location: earth (the not-flat one)

Re: [0.61]I don't know how to call this bug, details inside

Post by quapurna » Mon Sep 02, 2013 4:33 pm

Halo, what if you do this in XnViewMP?
Open that image and in View mode, Menu > Image > Change colour depth
Make sure that for 32 bit, the alpha is 255
What is the result ?

If you use 24 bit, the file size is smaller by 500kb.

Then, If you do: Menu > Image > Map > Automatic levels ,
is the image better in appearance ?


Perhaps, this site is worth reading concerning with the alpha in bmp.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BMP_file_format

Thanks.

BK201
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:43 pm

Re: [0.61]I don't know how to call this bug, details inside

Post by BK201 » Wed Sep 04, 2013 10:59 am

So, this BMP have alpha channel? That's the first time I know it

Post Reply