strange color setting of picture after resize and convert

Discussions on NConvert - the command line tool for image conversion and manipulation

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
Achim

strange color setting of picture after resize and convert

Post by Achim » Fri Feb 22, 2008 1:33 pm

Hi Pierre,

we are using your great tool with the following syntax:

nconvert -log -out jpeg -resize 100 130 C:\Photos\xnview_xnconvert\test\*.jpg

The source file size is 270*340 /24BBP

The resize is working fine so far but the brightness was changed.

If we are using XNView directly and change the size to 100*130 the brightness will not change.

Can you please give us a hint on this ?

Thanks and Best Regards,
Achim

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31364
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: strange color setting of picture after resize and conver

Post by xnview » Fri Feb 22, 2008 3:05 pm

Achim wrote:Hi Pierre,

we are using your great tool with the following syntax:

nconvert -log -out jpeg -resize 100 130 C:\Photos\xnview_xnconvert\test\*.jpg

The source file size is 270*340 /24BBP

The resize is working fine so far but the brightness was changed.

If we are using XNView directly and change the size to 100*130 the brightness will not change.

Can you please give us a hint on this ?

Thanks and Best Regards,
Achim
You use -log
Pierre.

DemonDuck
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 6:09 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Brightness changes -- and levels adjustment.

Post by DemonDuck » Sat Feb 23, 2008 3:55 pm

I also see brightness (levels) changing when I convert from Fuji RAF to TIFF.

I thought this was a problem specific to the RAF -> TIFF conversion but the previous post suggests that it is a more general problem.

I think that XnView/XnConvert are trying to be too sophisticated and helpful in the convert/resize actions. I understand that many people would like to have brightness/levels correction done automatically but there are times when that is not wanted.

Has anyone looked at this problem?

I can supply Fuji RAF test images.

Post Reply