b1: Red eyes: not fixed…

Bugs and Issues in 1.82 Test versions which have been fixed and verified as resolved.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Locked
User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

b1: Red eyes: not fixed…

Post by Clo » Sun Dec 11, 2005 4:55 pm

:) Hello !

- There are two small issues about that function :

1. The button is still active while nothing is selected, like I reported already HERE.
2. In the opposite, the entry in the “Image” menu stays blurred (greyed) always, even when an area is selected on a displayed picture…
- I didn't see any new menu entry in “View” or “Image” menu that could cause this behaviour…

:mrgreen: Kind regards,
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8174
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Red eyes : not fixed…

Post by helmut » Sun Dec 11, 2005 5:45 pm

Clo wrote::) Hello !

- There are two small issues about that function :

1. The button is still active while nothing is selected, like I reported already HERE.
I've posted the answer there. Again: There will be a message box if you perform redeye correction without a selection.
Clo wrote:2. In the opposite, the entry in the “Image” menu stays blurred (greyed) always, even when an area is selected on a displayed picture…
- I didn't see any new menu entry in “View” or “Image” menu that could cause this behaviour…
I guess your image is not RGB (16 mio. colours), so red eye correction won't work.

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

8 BPP must work

Post by Clo » Sun Dec 11, 2005 7:35 pm

• Hi !

- Sorry, I didn't found out the feature you talk of in this previous reply…

- The image I tested is a 8 BPP. Please, watch the screen shot below :

    Image

- Indeed, an area was selected when I make this image…
- If I display an image having a upper colour-depth, the menu-entry is active, but I don't get any dialogue, and nothing happens on the image.
- However, when closing this current image, XnView asks for save the (ghostly) changes !

:mrgreen: G
Claude
Clo
Last edited by Clo on Sun Dec 11, 2005 8:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8174
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Post by helmut » Sun Dec 11, 2005 8:24 pm

I think the menu item "Red eye Correction" should be always sensitive and the message box should say:

For removing red eyes, make a selection on one red eye, and then select 'Red Eye Correction'.

Please note that removing red eyes works on true colour images, only.
Last edited by helmut on Sun Dec 11, 2005 8:27 pm, edited 2 times in total.

marsh
XnThusiast
Posts: 2443
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 6:31 am

Re: 8 BPP must work

Post by marsh » Sun Dec 11, 2005 8:26 pm

Clo wrote: - Indeed, an area was selected when I make this image…
- If I display an image having a upper colour-depth, the menu-entry is active, but I don't get any dialogue, and nothing happens on the image.
- However, when closing this current image, XvView asks for save the (ghostly) changes !
I confirm. I selected area on a 256 color map and performed red-eye correction <ctrl+e> then it asks to save when no changes have been made. This only happens if area selected has red color in it.

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8174
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Post by helmut » Tue Dec 20, 2005 6:10 pm

In beta2, the menu item "Red eye correction" is not available for files with colours other than RGB. This is a way to fix this, but the suggestion was to show a message box (analog to De-Skew).

:arrow: Reopened.

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

The icon---

Post by Clo » Tue Dec 20, 2005 7:46 pm

:arrow: helmut

• Hi !
- For images having a colour-depth < 24 BPP, now the icon is blurred in the tool-bar, but it's always active for appropriate BPPs while not any area is selected, and I don't like this behaviour, it's illogical.
- IMHO, it might behave like in 1.80.3, it's more explicit…

:mrgreen: G.
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

Xyzzy
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 10:17 pm
Location: Poland

Post by Xyzzy » Fri Jan 06, 2006 1:29 pm

I, for one, prefer messages to deactivating options.

If an option is deactivated I wonder why it is inaccessible and I have to dig in help (if there is any) to find an answer. If I get an error message I instantly know what's the problem and how to fix it.

I consider this Solved..

X.

Locked