B3: Capturing rectangle: Center in Zoomed area?

Bugs and Suggestions in XnView Classic which have been resolved

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8120
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

B3: Capturing rectangle: Center in Zoomed area?

Postby helmut » Wed Jul 09, 2008 4:57 pm

When screen capturing a rectangle, a zoomed area is shown, which is good and useful. But currently the user has to estimate him/herself where the center in the zoom area and thus the start of his/her selection is. Currently pixel precise capturing is still difficult.

Suggestion:
In this zoomed window the selection rectangle should be shown. Alternatively the center could be marked with a cross. Sample:
Image

User avatar
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Postby Dreamer » Wed Jul 09, 2008 11:27 pm

Right, I think it's even a bug since it's completely unusable now.

I also think it's a bit small, but perhaps it's just my (quite) large resolution.

Another suggestion - Esc key to cancel the operation.

Edit:

BTW This feature would be really useful also for cropping.
Dreamer

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8120
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Postby helmut » Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:20 pm

Dreamer wrote:Right, I think it's even a bug since it's completely unusable now.

Yes, a useless preview. :-|

Dreamer wrote:I also think it's a bit small, but perhaps it's just my (quite) large resolution.

No problems here. Perhaps a bit larger (not the area, but the zoom).

Dreamer wrote:Another suggestion - Esc key to cancel the operation.

Yes!

Dreamer wrote:BTW This feature would be really useful also for cropping.

Yes!!

User avatar
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Postby Dreamer » Thu Jul 10, 2008 11:03 pm

helmut wrote:
Dreamer wrote:I also think it's a bit small, but perhaps it's just my (quite) large resolution.

No problems here. Perhaps a bit larger (not the area, but the zoom).

No, it would be even worse.

helmut wrote:
Dreamer wrote:Another suggestion - Esc key to cancel the operation.

Yes!

Dreamer wrote:BTW This feature would be really useful also for cropping.

Yes!!

I have suggested this feature for cropping, it would be much more useful for cropping IMO.
Dreamer

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8120
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Postby helmut » Fri Jul 11, 2008 7:45 pm

Dreamer wrote:
helmut wrote:
Dreamer wrote:I also think it's a bit small, but perhaps it's just my (quite) large resolution.

No problems here. Perhaps a bit larger (not the area, but the zoom).

No, it would be even worse.

What do you mean?

@Pierre:
As written above the zoom preview for capturing is pretty useless the way it is now. The "Missing center" problem should be solved before releasing the 1.94.

User avatar
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Postby Dreamer » Fri Jul 11, 2008 10:49 pm

helmut wrote:
Dreamer wrote:No, it would be even worse.

What do you mean?

The area would be even 'smaller' then. It's not so bad...

...However, I'm using keyboard shortcuts to make the screenshots quickly, so I don't need this feature here, I need it for cropping.
Dreamer

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8120
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Postby helmut » Sat Jul 12, 2008 9:03 am

Dreamer wrote:
helmut wrote:
Dreamer wrote:No, it would be even worse.

What do you mean?

The area would be even 'smaller' then. It's not so bad...

O.k., I understand: You would like to have the same contents displayed a bit larger.

Dreamer wrote:...However, I'm using keyboard shortcuts to make the screenshots quickly, so I don't need this feature here, I need it for cropping.

O.k. But let's first fine-tune and finish one functionality (capturing in 1.94) and then start changing the next.

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8120
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Postby helmut » Wed Jul 16, 2008 10:39 pm

In 1.94 RC1 the center is marked with a "cross".


Return to “Classic - Resolved Bugs & Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests