Corrupted photos scanner

All non-XnView related: softwares, formats, imaging, photography...

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

Harry

Corrupted photos scanner

Post by Harry »

Hello!

First I have to introduce myself. My name is Nicolas and I'm french so excuse my bad english . I'm not a profesionnal but since I was a boy, I have ever made photos. I have thousands of photos in my old hard drive disc (80GB, 1999), most of them are digital but some are scanned photos of original damaged photos rebuilt by Photoshop.

Two days ago, I have seen some photos damaged in a similar way of these photos and I ask your help. I want to know if you know a program who scan the jpeg-header to know if the file is corrupt like the JFV utility.

Thanks for your help.
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian

Post by XnTriq »

Welcome to the forum, Harry :-)

I assume you're already aware of JPEGsnoop.

Have you tried IdentifyTruncatedJpeg by Marco Schmidt? It's a “Java command line program to identify truncated JPEG files (cause: incomplete downloads, partial recovery)”.
Harry

Post by Harry »

I'm trying it.
I will give you a feedback when I have results.
Harry

Post by Harry »

It works well. Now I have to edit these photos, some are too damaged to keep them but some are a little damaged but not graphicaly. I will edit those ones with XnView with resizing@100% and quality@95% to keep original size and good quality. Thanks a lot for helping me.
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian

Re: Corrupted photos scanner

Post by XnTriq »

Coder's Lagoon wrote:Bad Peggy is my latest Windows application. It searches for damaged JPEG files and will validate and verify pictures for truncation and other blemishes which sometimes occur when such files are getting downloaded or restored from bad backups.