Shutter speed and aperture not displayed in overlay

Bugs found in XnView Classic. Please report only one bug per topic!

Moderators: helmut, XnTriq, xnview

macsmol
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2022 10:02 pm

Shutter speed and aperture not displayed in overlay

Post by macsmol »

Subject: 2.50.4: Shutter speed and aperture not displayed in overlay

XnView Classic: 2.50.4 - 64 bit
OS: Windows 64bit

To reproduce
I have a DNG (from Pentax K-3) and jpeg (generated in xn - jpgs from lightroom seem to work fine) files containing exif metadata with shutter speed and aperture. I see them in XNview in Properties(PL:właściwości) window (shortcut Alt+Enter)
I wanted to display these metadata in the overlay.
I pressed F12 to open options.
In the options window I go to Displayer > Full screen section (Wyświetlarka > Pełny ekran in Polish)
I check the show info checkbox (pokaż informacje in Pol)
I paste the following format string:
<Directory><Filename>
Tag: <Tag status>
speed:<Shutter Speed>
aperture<Aperture>
make<Make>


I apply the options.
I view the image and press 'i' key to show overlay.


Effect: I see values for all the data except shutter speed and aperture.

Expected behaviour: I would expect to see the same shutter speed and aperture values as in the Properties window
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 37750
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Shutter speed and aperture not displayed in overlay

Post by xnview »

please send me a sample file?
Pierre.
macsmol
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2022 10:02 pm

Re: Shutter speed and aperture not displayed in overlay

Post by macsmol »

Sure. You can download this one:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1RhX1ru ... sp=sharing

It was taken at f1.4 at 1/8000 second (verified in PS 6.0)
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 37750
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Shutter speed and aperture not displayed in overlay

Post by xnview »

ok, these fields don't exist, exiftool compute them with other fields
Pierre.
macsmol
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2022 10:02 pm

Re: Shutter speed and aperture not displayed in overlay

Post by macsmol »

Thats very confusing then. I must have found the field names somewhere in xnview when i was editing the config string.
Why would xn suggest the field names that are not there?
Are there other fields with the same meaning? If so then maybe the duplicated 'nonexisting' fields can be removed from the suggestion/manual.