Page 1 of 1

Zoom 100% is incorrect on secondary display

Posted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 12:08 pm
by thany2
I've got two displays:
1) Laptop internal screen, a 15" 4K scaled to 250%
2) External 28" 2.5K ultrawide, scaled to 100%

When XN starts on the internal monitor by doubleclicking an image, the image is scaled pixel-to-pixel with the screen. That means a screenshot of a "normal" monitors appears to be 2.5x smaller. This is expected behaviour, and very much desired when watching actual photographs.

When XN is then dragged to my external monitor, the loaded picture remains the same physical size, AND the zoom factor remains at 100%. Effectively it is zoomed out to 40% (100% / 2.5) while it reports a zoom factor of 100%. Even when XN starts on the external monitor, the zoom factor is still always off by a factor of 2.5.

In short: XnView's own zoom factor is dependend on the OS scaling factor of the *primary* monitor, even when XnView is not on that monitor.

Expected: XnView's own scaling factor should always be pixel-to-pixel with the monitor it is currenty running on, not with the primary monitor.

Re: Zoom 100% is incorrect on secondary display

Posted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 11:26 am
by xnview
the primary monitor is the 4k, right? XnView use the primary scaled factor

Re: Zoom 100% is incorrect on secondary display

Posted: Tue Mar 05, 2019 1:56 pm
by thany2
xnview wrote:
Mon Mar 04, 2019 11:26 am
the primary monitor is the 4k, right? XnView use the primary scaled factor
Yes, correct. So that's the problem explained.

Now as for a solution... :)

Re: Zoom 100% is incorrect on secondary display

Posted: Tue Mar 12, 2019 8:39 am
by xnview
currently there is no way, XnView use always primary scale factor

Re: Zoom 100% is incorrect on secondary display

Posted: Wed Mar 13, 2019 10:18 am
by thany2
xnview wrote:
Tue Mar 12, 2019 8:39 am
currently there is no way, XnView use always primary scale factor
Yes okay, but I mean, can't we fix that? I understand how it is currently, but surely the sourcecode is not set in stone... We can change something to get a bug fixed, right? :)