Saving images in my selected directory

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView Classic.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
kologha
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 10:55 am

Saving images in my selected directory

Post by kologha » Sat Sep 28, 2013 11:04 am

Hi, when I save an image using 'Save As', XnView insists on saving it in a default directory on the C:\ drive. I then change the path to my directory which is on the E:\ drive and save the image. The next image I want to save, which should also go to my directory on the E:\ drive, XnView again wants to save in it's default directory on the C:\ drive forcing me to change the path for a second time. How can I force XnView to use the same path as the last saved image? That way I need only change the path once instead of for every image I want to save. This is driving me mad!

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5456
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: Saving images in my selected directory

Post by XnTriq » Sat Sep 28, 2013 11:30 am

If I'm not mistaken, these are the relevant settings for configuring XnView's behavior in that regard:
  • Tools » Options... » General » File Operations
    • For 'Save As', use original pathname the first time
    • For 'Save As', use same original pathname & format

kologha
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 10:55 am

Re: Saving images in my selected directory

Post by kologha » Sat Sep 28, 2013 11:39 am

I have tried selecting those two alternatives but XnView still wants to save in it's default 'Temp' folder on the C:\ drive. I then tried selecting the first only of those options with the same result, then I tried selecting only the second one with the same result. I am using v2.03 and closed it after making my selection, then opened it to try saving some images to see if it worked. No go,and that's when I came to this forum.

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5456
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: Saving images in my selected directory

Post by XnTriq » Sat Sep 28, 2013 11:50 am

What version of Windows are we talking about?
Did you try to run XnView with admin rights?

kologha
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 10:55 am

Re: Saving images in my selected directory

Post by kologha » Sat Sep 28, 2013 11:57 am

Using WinXP SP3 with admin rights.

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5456
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: Saving images in my selected directory

Post by XnTriq » Sat Sep 28, 2013 12:00 pm

Could you please check if this third setting does the trick?
  • Tools » Options... » General » Operations » After 'Save As', change filename

kologha
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 10:55 am

Re: Saving images in my selected directory

Post by kologha » Sat Sep 28, 2013 12:22 pm

XnView does not do what I want so I am afraid it is not for me. I don't understand the thinking behind the 'save as' command, I will delete XnView and go back to Irfanview which at least does what I expect. Thank you for your trouble.

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5456
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: Saving images in my selected directory

Post by XnTriq » Sat Sep 28, 2013 12:30 pm

Well, these options were implemented by the developer upon user request.
I, for one, never ran into problems saving images with XnView on any version of Windows with these settings:
  • Tools » Options... » General
    • Operations
      • [×] After 'Save As', change filename
      File Operations
      • [  ] For 'Save As', use original pathname the first time
        [×] For 'Save As', use same original pathname & format
Unfortunately, that's all I can do for now. It's the weekend, so we probably have to wait for Pierre's response until Monday.

aelford
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 6:33 pm

Re: Saving images in my selected directory

Post by aelford » Fri Jan 24, 2014 3:04 pm

I'm experiencing this same issue with v2.13 when using Visoneer OneTOuch with a Xerox DocuMate scanner.
If I scan directly from xnView then it works OK, but when using OneTOuch, the 'Save As' file path defaults to User>AppData> Local> Temp every time.
Is there any possibility this can also be rectified so that it remembers the network drive path I where the scan needs to be saved? Thanks

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31887
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Saving images in my selected directory

Post by xnview » Mon Jan 27, 2014 2:18 pm

What do you means by OneTouch?
Pierre.

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5456
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: Saving images in my selected directory

Post by XnTriq » Tue Jan 28, 2014 3:00 am

xnview wrote:What do you means by OneTouch?
  • Wikipedia: Xerox DocuShare » Imaging
Visioneer ([url=http://www.visioneer.com/onetouch/]OneTouch Scanning[/url]) wrote:Visioneer OneTouch directly links scanning hardware with industry-leading software, forming an easy to use conduit from paper to a selected destination. Every time the user scans a document, they no longer have to configure their scan job, launch their scanning software, or the application the scanned image will be “linked” to. The document to be scanned is simply placed in the scanner and one of the buttons on the scanner front panel is pressed. The scanner automatically and without further human intervention launches the desired application, scans and delivers the digital document to that application via a link.

Visioneer OneTouch links allow customers to scan their documents directly into a pre-selected application by simply pressing one button on a Visioneer or Xerox DocuMate scanner. These links can easily be developed by an ISV using Visioneer’s OneTouch Links SDK.
aelford wrote:I'm experiencing this same issue with v2.13 when using Visoneer OneTOuch with a Xerox DocuMate scanner.
If I scan directly from xnView then it works OK, but when using OneTOuch, the 'Save As' file path defaults to User>AppData> Local> Temp every time.
Is there any possibility this can also be rectified so that it remembers the network drive path I where the scan needs to be saved? Thanks
Have you tried to adjust the Folder for Temporary Images?

Post Reply