Scanning multiple pages into a single .pdf

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView Classic.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

argyle

Scanning multiple pages into a single .pdf

Postby argyle » Wed Aug 08, 2007 4:56 pm

I am switching to XnView from the imaging software that was built into older versions of Windows. I need to be able to scan multiple pages into one .pdf, but it is creating separate files every time. I've looked through all the settings and can't find anything that relates to this - is it not possible w/ XnView, or am I overlooking something?

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 28394
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Scanning multiple pages into a single .pdf

Postby xnview » Thu Aug 09, 2007 3:25 am

argyle wrote:I am switching to XnView from the imaging software that was built into older versions of Windows. I need to be able to scan multiple pages into one .pdf, but it is creating separate files every time. I've looked through all the settings and can't find anything that relates to this - is it not possible w/ XnView, or am I overlooking something?

You must enable 'Save as multipage'
Pierre.

rv61

multipage save

Postby rv61 » Sat Nov 24, 2007 8:04 am

I read your reply, but I still fail to find the right command.
Could you please refer me to the exact command that will allow me to enable the Multipage feature?
In which menu can I find it? (I am using 1.91.6).

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 28394
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: multipage save

Postby xnview » Sat Nov 24, 2007 10:26 am

rv61 wrote:I read your reply, but I still fail to find the right command.
Could you please refer me to the exact command that will allow me to enable the Multipage feature?
In which menu can I find it? (I am using 1.91.6).

File/Acquire into
Pierre.

rv61

multipage save

Postby rv61 » Sat Nov 24, 2007 2:40 pm

Got it!
Thx!!!

Ys

Re: multipage save

Postby Ys » Mon Aug 25, 2008 2:17 pm

rv61 wrote:Got it!
Thx!!!


I don't get it, i am using 1.91.5 version of XnView, in the french version.

I do exactely :
1/ Fichier > séléctionner la source TWAIN
which means :
File > select TWAIN source
then i select the right source of scanner

2/ Fichier > sélectionner dans ...
which means :
File > Acquire into...

I specify the directory (desktop), I put a word "temp" for the file name, the index is 0 with 1 digit large, all the pages (odd and even) and chose the PDF format which options are "compression with ZIP" and a quality of "80".
The "multiple pages TIFF" checkbox is checked.

I click on "scanner".

Then the "Color network ScanGear" window open, and if I click on the "scan" button, I can see the progression of acquiring.

But the files generated are named "tmp_xnview-0.png" to "tmp_xnview-8.png", nothing in common with the word i put by the way...

Could anyone help me understanding this issue ?

User avatar
RGBA
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 10:41 am

Postby RGBA » Mon Aug 25, 2008 3:33 pm

The mistake is maybe you are using PNG which does not support this,
multipage is only supported by TIFF or PDF.

You have to change the format and it will work. :wink:

Image

Ys

mutliple page

Postby Ys » Mon Aug 25, 2008 3:45 pm

Erf... I have checked this before sending my message :)

I am currently at work, but i will post a picture showing that I'm on the PDF format selection...

So, nobody has any suggestions ... :-(

Guest

Re: mutliple page

Postby Guest » Mon Aug 25, 2008 3:47 pm

Ys wrote:Erf... I have checked this before sending my message :)

I am currently at work, but i will post a picture showing that I'm on the PDF format selection...

So, nobody has any suggestions ... :-(



BTW, could you (or anyone else) just tell me 2 things :

1/ what is your version
2/ if 2 pages works with PDF format ?

Thanks in advance.

Ys

multiple page

Postby Ys » Mon Aug 25, 2008 4:32 pm

okay, i downloaded the vers 1.91.5 and it works ...

thanks.

thor10
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2017 4:46 am

Re: Scanning multiple pages into a single .pdf

Postby thor10 » Wed Oct 18, 2017 4:59 am

Hi
when i had tried to do the bulk scanning, error occurred and that is
"Incorrect setup of the interface"


Return to “Classic - General Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests