"File already exists" dialog improvements

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView Classic

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
User avatar
loth
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: Kölle

"File already exists" dialog improvements

Post by loth » Fri Sep 09, 2005 10:03 am

hi all,
some wishes from me:


in browser mode.

if i try to move a file to a folder where a file with the same name exist, the "file already exists"-dialog comes up.

i click in the "new name"-field and enter a "2" at the end of the filename and press enter. (so the filename will be filename2)

now my points:


1) i think xnview needs an automatic rename schema.
very simple: just add a number at the end of the filename.
(filename will be filename2, filename2 will be filename3 ... filename34635 will be filename34636, etc (or _2, _3 ...))
so the user can just press the "rename&move"-button. (the renamed filename will be shown befor, of course)


2) if i enter something in the "new name"-field and press enter, nothing happened, because the focus is still on the button "skip"
not (as it should be) on "rename".
please change that behaviour, so that if the types in a new filename, the focus is on "enter"


3) i'd like to have a bigger/resizeable "file already exists"-dialog. the pictures are shown are way too small. 8-)
especialy on pictures with huge dimensions like 1500x1600 it is not that simple to see small differences in the pictures.


4) i need a "delete right"- and "delete left"-button to delete the pictures i dont need. and a "delete both"-button. (very useful)
after pressing the "delete(left/right)"-button, the file should be moved/copied automaticly.


5) i like it very much, that i can copy the filename or the path to the clipboard! :-)
but to copy the full path *and* filename to the clipboard would be great too. now, either the filename *or*
the path can be copied.


6) i like to see what colour-depth the pictures have. only dimensions are shown now.


7) i'd like to choose the colour which appears as the background color of the shown pictures.
now, white is the background colour, but i'd like to cutomize it to black.


8) if i just press "rename" but didnt changed the new filename, the "file already exists"-dialog comes up again, without
any information what happened. this could be a little big confusing. a short red text note "copying/moving skipped, because ..."
could be useful. specially, if the user copy/moves a lot of pictures, which look identical.

thats for now.
loth

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8153
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Post by helmut » Fri Oct 07, 2005 3:33 pm

loth wrote:some wishes from me:
Many wishes in one post are a bit hard to answer and look scaring for readers. I'll try...
loth wrote:in browser mode.

if i try to move a file to a folder where a file with the same name exist, the "file already exists"-dialog comes up.

i click in the "new name"-field and enter a "2" at the end of the filename and press enter. (so the filename will be filename2)

now my points:


1) i think xnview needs an automatic rename schema.
very simple: just add a number at the end of the filename.
(filename will be filename2, filename2 will be filename3 ... filename34635 will be filename34636, etc (or _2, _3 ...))
so the user can just press the "rename&move"-button. (the renamed filename will be shown befor, of course)
A default rename handling would be really good. Perhaps an option to define the suffix and placeholders would be good.
loth wrote:2) if i enter something in the "new name"-field and press enter, nothing happened, because the focus is still on the button "skip"
not (as it should be) on "rename".
please change that behaviour, so that if the types in a new filename, the focus is on "enter"
The default button should not (and cannot) be changed on the fly. But I can see that using the keyboard is really a pain at the moment: When trying to tab to the "Rename" button, one will tab to the filenames, first. The filenames should not be in the tab order or come last, I think.
loth wrote:3) i'd like to have a bigger/resizeable "file already exists"-dialog. the pictures are shown are way too small. 8-)
especialy on pictures with huge dimensions like 1500x1600 it is not that simple to see small differences in the pictures.
Resizable dialog would be good. Also, the standard actions on the images (Zoom, Move) could help. Not sure whether we have high quality previews, here.
loth wrote:4) i need a "delete right"- and "delete left"-button to delete the pictures i dont need. and a "delete both"-button. (very useful)
after pressing the "delete(left/right)"-button, the file should be moved/copied automaticly.
"Replace" partly does what you need. But you want a more fine-tuned overwriting. Adding more options (Delete left, Delete right, ...) might be a good idea but we have to make sure that the dialog remains very clear. In no case the user must loose one of his/her images.
loth wrote:5) i like it very much, that i can copy the filename or the path to the clipboard! :-)
but to copy the full path *and* filename to the clipboard would be great too. now, either the filename *or*
the path can be copied.
Agreed. Adding a field containing would be sufficient and shouldn't be a problem.
loth wrote:6) i like to see what colour-depth the pictures have. only dimensions are shown now.
Also agree.
loth wrote:7) i'd like to choose the colour which appears as the background color of the shown pictures.
now, white is the background colour, but i'd like to cutomize it to black.
I think a general option "background colour" is needed. This background colour should be used whenever seeing previews of images (e.g. "Compare" dialog, "File exists" dialog, "Effetcs" dialog, and more).
loth wrote:8) if i just press "rename" but didnt changed the new filename, the "file already exists"-dialog comes up again, without
any information what happened. this could be a little big confusing. a short red text note "copying/moving skipped, because ..."
could be useful. specially, if the user copy/moves a lot of pictures, which look identical.
Right. As long as the filename in the edittext is the same as the original one, the button "Rename" should be insensitive.
loth wrote:thats for now.
Phew! Normally, I recommend to write individual topics (see Rules & Guidelines), but your suggestions are all for the "File exists" dialog, so that's o.k..

Thank you for the suggestions, loth. :-)

davill
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:26 am

Re: "File already exists" dialog improvements

Post by davill » Thu Jul 16, 2009 8:39 am

those improvements are very interesting!
news about them?

User avatar
loth
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: Kölle

Re: "File already exists" dialog improvements

Post by loth » Thu Jul 16, 2009 9:43 am

davill wrote:those improvements are very interesting!
news about them?
be patient... the original post (suggestions, no planned feature improvements) is from 2005 :-)
but if you want to try it for yourself, just check every point and see what could be removed from the list. then, write your ideas down and why you'd like to have them and maybe we see them in the next yea^H^H^H updates :-)
have fun

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31351
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re:

Post by xnview » Wed Oct 28, 2009 2:51 pm

helmut wrote:
loth wrote:5) i like it very much, that i can copy the filename or the path to the clipboard! :-)
but to copy the full path *and* filename to the clipboard would be great too. now, either the filename *or*
the path can be copied.
Agreed. Adding a field containing would be sufficient and shouldn't be a problem.
What do you means?
helmut wrote:
loth wrote:7) i'd like to choose the colour which appears as the background color of the shown pictures.
now, white is the background colour, but i'd like to cutomize it to black.
I think a general option "background colour" is needed. This background colour should be used whenever seeing previews of images (e.g. "Compare" dialog, "File exists" dialog, "Effetcs" dialog, and more).
Perhaps by choosing the same colour as view mode??
Pierre.

Post Reply