Page 1 of 1

Batch Convert: Resize by Height (or Width) Only

Posted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 4:55 pm
by m.Th.
I have a "big" problem almost anytime when I want to promote the program to newcomers. They almost always ask something like this:

"How can I batch resize photos to have 1080 px in Height?"
"How can I batch resize photos to be 700 px width for my site?"
etc.

They are turned away by the fact that XnView MP does not have a straightforward way (!!) to do this. Ok, it can be simulated by using the following settings
XnV-Resize.jpg
XnV-Resize.jpg (15.05 KiB) Viewed 771 times
but it feels "too complicated" for them.

A much, much better interface would be something like this (sorry for the "formatting"):
XnV-Resize-Height.jpg
XnV-Resize-Height.jpg (14.07 KiB) Viewed 771 times
This would help a ton in program's acceptance among new users.

From implementation pov is very simple: just add two new modes (Height only and Width only) and hide the unnecessary boxes. Fill the hidden values with 999999 (infinite) and use the code from "Fit" mode. Of course you can write optimized code for each case separately if you want.

Re: Batch Convert: Resize by Height (or Width) Only

Posted: Fri May 25, 2018 9:06 am
by xnview
See issue for current status and some details.

Re: Batch Convert: Resize by Height (or Width) Only

Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2018 9:38 am
by xnview
This problem is supposed to be fixed in XnView MP 0.91. Please check and confirm the bug fix here.

Re: Batch Convert: Resize by Height (or Width) Only

Posted: Fri Jun 08, 2018 6:48 am
by m.Th.
fixed 0.91b1