Page 1 of 1

Photoshop plugin, how?

Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 4:46 pm
by BK201
Didn't figure out how this works.
Are all I need some .8bf files?
Or I must have Photoshop x86 version installed?

OS: Win 10 x64
PS: Adobe Photoshop CS6 (64 Bit) (x64 only)
XV: 0.83-XnViewMP-win-x64
1.png
1.png (38.78 KiB) Viewed 3134 times
2.png

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 1:15 am
by XnTriq
Photoshop doesn't have to be installed for 8BFs to work with XnView.
The 32-bit edition of MP requires 32-bit 8BFs, and the 64-bit version needs 64-bit plug-ins. (I don't know if AlphaPlugins LaunchBox is compatible with XnView MP).

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 9:25 am
by BK201
XnTriq wrote:Photoshop doesn't have to be installed for 8BFs to work with XnView.
The 32-bit edition of MP requires 32-bit 8BFs, and the 64-bit version needs 64-bit plug-ins. (I don't know if AlphaPlugins LaunchBox is compatible with XnView MP).
Without luck :(

1. I added plugin path to the adobe plugin manager
In the xnview.ini it says

Code: Select all

[Adobe]
Adobe\Path=K:/App/Something/XnViewMP/plugins/photoshop/
2. I put a x64 plugin 8BF file into said path (as said in the OP, I'm using xnview x64 on x64 OS)

Code: Select all

K:/App/Something/XnViewMP/plugins/photoshop/USM2-x64.8bf
3. Nothing happened.

Compatible problem probably?
Is there a compatible plugin list?
Can you provide me a working x64 8BF plugin so I can tell if it's the problem of my plugins?

And I attached the plugin I was using to test, it works on photoshop x64

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:15 pm
by XnTriq
BK201 wrote:1. I added plugin path to the adobe plugin manager
In the xnview.ini it says

Code: Select all

[Adobe]
Adobe\Path=K:/App/Something/XnViewMP/plugins/photoshop/
2. I put a x64 plugin 8BF file into said path (as said in the OP, I'm using xnview x64 on x64 OS)

Code: Select all

K:/App/Something/XnViewMP/plugins/photoshop/USM2-x64.8bf
3. Nothing happened.
To prevent possible conflicts Photoshop-compatible filters shouldn't be placed in any of the “special” subdirectories of your XnView installation. (I keep all filters in %CommonFiles%\Plug-Ins\ so I can point host applications to that folder.)
BK201 wrote:Is there a compatible plugin list?
Free Adobe Photoshop Plug-Ins for XnView Classic (32-bit)
BK201 wrote:Can you provide me a working x64 8BF plugin so I can tell if it's the problem of my plugins?
Could you please extract/install the following 64-bit freeware plug-ins to K:/App/Something/Plug-Ins/ or whatever and do some tests?

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2016 10:32 am
by BK201
XnTriq wrote: Could you please extract/install the following 64-bit freeware plug-ins to K:/App/Something/Plug-Ins/ or whatever and do some tests?
Tried two of them: luce2 & namesuppressed
What I did:
1. Create the folder you mentioned
2. Download & extract them to the new Plug-Ins folder
3. Start XnView-MP (normal starting & running as administrator)

Nothing happened :/
2.png
I'm sure those plugins you provided works well in Photoshop
1.png
1.png (42.17 KiB) Viewed 3055 times
All I want is just a simply Pixelize>Mosaic filter ;_;
Is there any alternatives for XnView MP?
Sure I can using Photoshop to do this, but I hope I can apply a simply mosaic effect without launching such a complex program and waiting for it starting up for seconds.

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2016 6:15 pm
by XnTriq
Thanks for testing, BK201 :-)

As you pointed out earlier, certain filters will only run with Photoshop due to compatibility issues, …
… but the Luce plug-in is fairly simple. Let's hope that Pierre will have time to look into this.
BK201 wrote:All I want is just a simply Pixelize>Mosaic filter ;_;
Is there any alternatives for XnView MP?
Sure I can using Photoshop to do this, but I hope I can apply a simply mosaic effect without launching such a complex program and waiting for it starting up for seconds.
Too bad MP is missing the Mosaic effect we have in Classic. Have you given Richard Rosenman's Pixelate a try?

BTW: PSFilterShim is able to host both 32-bit and 64-bit plug-ins under Paint.NET.

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2016 9:56 am
by BK201
XnTriq wrote:Thanks for testing, BK201 :-)

As you pointed out earlier, certain filters will only run with Photoshop due to compatibility issues, …
… but the Luce plug-in is fairly simple. Let's hope that Pierre will have time to look into this.
BK201 wrote:All I want is just a simply Pixelize>Mosaic filter ;_;
Is there any alternatives for XnView MP?
Sure I can using Photoshop to do this, but I hope I can apply a simply mosaic effect without launching such a complex program and waiting for it starting up for seconds.
Too bad MP is missing the Mosaic effect we have in Classic. Have you given Richard Rosenman's Pixelate a try?

BTW: PSFilterShim is able to host both 32-bit and 64-bit plug-ins under Paint.NET.
Thanks for your recommendations, tried Rosenman's Pixelate, still not working on MP ( ´・ω・`)
Seems that I have to use Photoshop for Mosaic filter for another two years (or longer)
I'm not sure if this is just a compatibility problem since NONE of those 8BF plugins working on MP. It looks more like something wrong with the plugin handler.

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2016 4:15 pm
by XnTriq
BK201 wrote:I'm not sure if this is just a compatibility problem since NONE of those 8BF plugins working on MP. It looks more like something wrong with the plugin handler.
I agree. That's why I'm hoping that Pierre will eventually comment on this.

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Posted: Sun Nov 27, 2016 10:27 am
by xnview
There is a problem with 64bits 8bf support
See Issue 1026 for details.

Luce, and some nik collection plugin can be used, i have always a crash with USM2 when applying

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 5:17 am
by helmut
This problem is supposed to be fixed in XnView MP 0.84 beta 3.

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2017 9:50 am
by BK201
helmut wrote:This problem is supposed to be fixed in XnView MP 0.84 beta 3.
Thanks!
I tested it, most of them now works, yet some of them are still not recognized (both x86 & x64 version).
Could you take a look at it when you have spare time?
Example 8BF plugin that works on Photoshop but on XnViewMP: FFT for 64 bit photoshop

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2017 9:57 am
by helmut
BK201 wrote:
helmut wrote:This problem is supposed to be fixed in XnView MP 0.84 beta 3.
Thanks!
I tested it, most of them now works, yet some of them are still not recognized (both x86 & x64 version).
Could you take a look at it when you have spare time?
Example 8BF plugin that works on Photoshop but on XnView MP: FFT for 64 bit photoshop
Thank you for your feedback, BK201. I've moved this topic to "New/Open"; I guess further investigation will be done after the release of version 0.84.

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2017 11:51 am
by BK201
helmut wrote:
BK201 wrote:
helmut wrote:This problem is supposed to be fixed in XnView MP 0.84 beta 3.
Thanks!
I tested it, most of them now works, yet some of them are still not recognized (both x86 & x64 version).
Could you take a look at it when you have spare time?
Example 8BF plugin that works on Photoshop but on XnView MP: FFT for 64 bit photoshop
Thank you for your feedback, BK201. I've moved this topic to "New/Open"; I guess further investigation will be done after the release of version 0.84.
Cool, but this is no longer a major bug for me since the Pixelate feature is back in 0.84 beta 3 :D

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2017 9:36 pm
by helmut
BK201 wrote:
helmut wrote:This problem is supposed to be fixed in XnView MP 0.84 beta 3.
Thanks!
I tested it, most of them now works, yet some of them are still not recognized (both x86 & x64 version).
Could you take a look at it when you have spare time?
Example 8BF plugin that works on Photoshop but on XnViewMP: FFT for 64 bit photoshop
@Pierre: There are still some plug-ins that do not work. Do you plan to look into this now or later (if later, this bug report will be moved to "Postponed")?

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2017 10:17 am
by xnview
helmut wrote:@Pierre: There are still some plug-ins that do not work. Do you plan to look into this now or later (if later, this bug report will be moved to "Postponed")?
later