Unsaved image lost when closing/canceling the Save As window

Bugs which are supposed to be fixed in the next test version (not available yet)

Moderators: helmut, XnTriq, xnview, Dreamer

Anibina
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2019 7:53 am

Unsaved image lost when closing/canceling the Save As window

Post by Anibina »

XnView MP Windows
Version 1.0 64bits (Apr 28 2022)


Description
After intending to save an unsaved image tab by closing it,
and choosing Save or Save As...

But then realizing that something else has to be done before saving,
for example, creating a directory structure in another application.

When the Save As window is closed or canceled.
Then the unsaved image also closes.

This leads to loss of work.


Reproduction steps
Either:
- Create a new image: File > New Image
- Or capture a screenshot: Tools > Capture
- Or press the keyboard key: PrintScreen and choose: Edit > Import Clipboard

Close the image tab (click X, press Ctrl + w, or right click close tab).
Observe that a popup appears:

Save changed file
Do you want to save changes to "Clipboard 1"?

The popup has four buttons:
Save as..., Save, No, Cancel

Click on either: Save as.., or Save

A Save As window opens.
Close or cancel the window, by:
- Clicking on the top right X
- Or the bottom right Cancel button


Observed
The Save As window closes.
But the unsaved image also closed.

Any work done on the unsaved image is lost.


Expected
Only the Save As window should close.
The unsaved image should remain open.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 37750
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Unsaved image lost when closing/canceling the Save As window

Post by xnview »

:bugconfirmed: Thanks to your detailed description I can reproduce the problem.
Pierre.