Save as new file type and delete original

XnConvert Multi Platform - Windows, MacOSX, Linux
bdragon
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 8:06 am

Save as new file type and delete original

Postby bdragon » Sat May 27, 2017 5:55 am

I've set up xnconvert so that it should save in a specific format. (jpg, because i don't really care for compression artifacts in stuff that is not for work)

Then i told it to delete the old pictures once done with the changes (reasoning that this way i would have a "backup" to restore from the recycle bin if i don't like the result).

This works only if the old filename does not match the new filename.

If the old picture was "pic.png" and the new is "pic.jpg" then the old picture is sent in the recycle bin.

But if they are both "pic.jpg" then the new picture overwrites the old. And that's undesirable.

Am i missing some setting, or is this by design? If this is by design: could you add an option that lets me find all original pictures in the recycle bin?

Thank you.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 27356
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Save as new file type and delete original

Postby xnview » Tue May 30, 2017 2:10 pm

it's the same bug as this topic??
Pierre.

bdragon
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 8:06 am

Re: Save as new file type and delete original

Postby bdragon » Tue May 30, 2017 2:13 pm

wops. Sorry, i forgot i had written about it. Yes, feel free to delete this thread.


Return to “XnConvert”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests